The Master Bedroom Tour

I am a manic decorator.  Or maybe I’m just a lazy decorator.  Either way, I tend to do nothing but ruminate on my rooms for-EVER until I finally call Cute Husband in a frenzy that I MUST begin my project RIGHT THIS MINUTE. And because Cute Husband is pretty much a saint, he usually shakes his head in amusement at me acquiesces to my every desire and we move at a break neck pace getting things done.  So last week when Kelly’s Korner announced this week’s Show Us Your Life tour would be master bedrooms I decided our room had to finally be painted after two years of living with the previous owners color choice that in no way coordinated with our bedding.  Like NOW.

So here is our newly painted room (Benjamin Moore Wedgewood Gray, which is a color I’m totally in love with and think is so serene and calm)~

And I finally got around to doing something with the window seat {other than clean laundry storage – this means you, Cute Husband!}.  Here’s my little bargain secret just between me and the whole Internet ~ Big Cutie has the same window seat in her bedroom and I spent hundreds of dollars to have a custom cushion made for her and she sits there all snuggled up reading almost every day.  However, in our room, I suspect this is more of an aesthetic place than a snuggly place, so I didn’t want to do that.   So I found a cushion at Pier One that fits a wicker couch and it’s a pretty good fit, and all the pillows are from TJ Maxx or Marshalls.

Now that it’s all painted, I hung the art back up.  The large lithograph is of the Butchart Gardens near Victoria, Canada, one of my most favorite places in the world and is literally the very first piece of art we bought as a married couple.  Can you find the framed monograms from Monday’s post?

Here’s looking the other way at each of our dressers.  The door on the right is our bathroom, which I’m fairly certain has won an award for being “The world’s smallest master bathroom in proportion to house size” on the planet.  It’s physically impossible to take a photograph in there, however there are some advantages to being able to brush one’s teeth at the sink while simultaneously taking a shower.  The door on the left is my closet {dh’s closet is to the right of the window seat and we “share” the one to the left.  Do you like how that math works out?}.  This is where you should all ignore that I took this picture before Cute Husband had a chance to reattach the cable to the molding or that our new drapes have not yet arrived {picture khaki silk the same color as the coverlet}.

And finally, there’s a tassle sighting I wouldn’t want you to miss.  That my friends, is a real live, honest to goodness Nester tassle before she stopped making them.  {Bonus points to anyone who spied another tassle in the room!}.

OK, and just to give you an idea of what we were living with up until a week ago, here’s the only picture I could find {manic decorators don’t have time to take “before” shots} showing the wall color or the old rug before I “shopped my house” and made a big switch.  Besides, how could I resist letting Little Cutie share her new petticoat, jammies and boots she got for her last birthday.  Apparently they put her in a dancing mood!

This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Master Bedroom Tour

  1. Jill says:

    I love the color! And I love the door knobs and the old charm of your bedroom! We have a new.. well, it was new when we moved in 6 years ago, so it’s just your standard room – we’re looking to move and I want an old where the doors click when they shut! I love it!!

  2. Dawn says:

    I love it! It’s funny how different that Wedgewood Grey can look in different settings isn’t it?

  3. I love this room and I love how you painted it because of Kelly’s Korner. I bet lots of us are thinking about how we can fix up our rooms before next week’s post!

    I really like your balance between warm and cool tones.

    Kate (in Australia)

  4. teresa says:

    Beautiful room…I love your bedroom….Great blog….Happy Saturday!
    I have a Christmas ornament giveaway on my holiday bog that ends Sunday night….

    http://grammyababychangeseverything.blogspot.com/

  5. I am a maniac decorator also… I have to search and search for before pics. I am glad I am not the only one.

Leave a Reply

