Embellishing an Infant Hat

Now that the weather is getting chilly, those of you with wee ones are in constant need of hats.  When The Cuties were babies, the coordinating hats were often the accessory that turned an affordable outfit into an excessive ensemble.  So here’s a quick and easy way to take a simple, plain infant hat and make it coordinate with a lot of different outfits.

First, your materials ~ all you’ll need is a basic cotton hat, some grosgrain ribbon in the same color {I like 3/8″}, tape and your sewing machine.

Next, cut a piece of your ribbon about an inch and a half long.  Fold over each end and take a piece of tape to hold it into position where you’ll want it on your hat.  I use tape for this project and not a pin because pins can run your grosgrain.  As far as position, I prefer a little above the cuff.

{I am aware, by the way, that the above photo just might go down in blogging history as the least interesting picture ever, but I wanted you to see just how simple this really is}

Now sew back and forth over your two edges of your ribbon a few times until it’s secure and pull off your tape.  You have now created a little tag ~ you should be able to lift up the center of your tag ~ this is about to be important!

Now you can take any flower or hairbow on an alligator clip and simply attach it to match the day’s outfit!  Tomorrow, you can switch to a new one, or throw the hat in the wash in case of dramatic projectile vomiting {until I was a mother I never knew a baby could puke so badly her hat needed to be washed!}.

How easy is that?!

Cute Husband will now roll his eyes at me as an MBA, because I just showed you how I make something I sell in my Etsy shop, but I’m feeling extra warm and fuzzy today, so we’ll call it an early “whatever it is you celebrate” present from me to you.  :)

Edited to Add: If you make one of these as a gift {or just want to buy one from my Etsy shop, the nicest thing about it is that it’s a “twofer!”  You give the hat with the clippie as an infant gift, and can opt to give additional clippies if you wish for now.  And then later when the bambino has more hair and/or outgrows the hat, they can still use the clippies as accessories that last!  How fun is that!

The Girl Creative

Sumo's Sweet Stuff

mmm button

Keeping It Simple

also shared at Creative Jewish Mom and todayscreativeblog

BWS tips button

BCD 125

This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Embellishing an Infant Hat

  1. Pia says:

    Brilliant! I will be doing that for my DDs! What a great way to “wear” all their clips when they’re hats are on. Thanks.

  2. Adorable! I just finally went out and bought some satin fabric to have a go at those lovely flowers, and my daughter sure would love a girl sized hat like your infant ones!
    Thanks so much for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday, great to have you!

  3. Lovely idea! I have some plain infant hats that I got from the dollar store. I will def be jazzing them up with your tutorial!

    I’m a follower now! :)

  4. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. says:

    very cute!

  5. What a smart idea — easy and convenient since it is so washable!

    I’m glad I found your blog through Hopsy’s link-up!

Leave a Reply

