What I’ve Been Up to This Week!

I’ve been a terrible blogger, so my apologies!

Yesterday was my very first craft show and I was helping to coordinate it so there were a million details to worry about, things to organize, products to make and imaginary things to wake up in the middle of the night and about which to have anxiety attacks.

Several girlfriends who also create and sell things got together and we hosted a “Holiday Sip & Shop” at one of our homes.  We all hosted tables of our wares, offered coffee and donuts in the morning session and wine and cheese in the evening session.  Because really, isn’t shopping always better with a glass in your hand?  At the end of the night, we had a drawing for a door prize of an item from each of our shops and all of us donated 20% of our sales to our local Food Bank.  It was a nice way to visit with friends, make some sales, and help out a little in our community.

I was really pleased with how things went.  I made great sales, and think I’m ready to tackle a *real* show.  My girlfriends who’ve done shows before were incredibly helpful and generous with their advice with regard to setup, organization, etc.

Of course, this is me, and I over prepared, so I have TONS of inventory and will be listing things like a maniac in my Etsy shop over the next several days {and as always, if you are looking for something specific and don’t see it, just send me a conversation and I can whip it up for you to match that special something!}.

If you’re looking for some other adorable online shopping opportunities, check out my friend Katie’s cute shop, Ok8e and also the hundreds of amazing shops at the Linky party at Kelly’s Korner today!

On another note, sweet, sweet Cute Husband took pity on me in mourning for my dearly departed Ethel and look what arrived in the mail yesterday!

{if you have no idea what the heck I’m talking about, please see here}

I would more than welcome any name suggestions in the comments!

Finally, imagine my delight while at Target this morning to discover not one endcap of Hanukkah goodies, not two endcaps of Hanukkah goodies, but two endcaps PLUS an entire FULL AISLE of Hanukkah goodies.  I believe I actually SWOONED.  And then desperately searched around for another person to share my delight.  Unfortunately there was no one there, so I had to skip around all myself.  If you saw the very tired looking 39 year old with a long dark pony tail under a baseball cap and yoga pants at your Target this morning and called your girlfriends to laugh about her behavior….Yeah, that was me.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Etsy, Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I’ve Been Up to This Week!

  1. Lindsey says:

    i love the idea of all of your girlfriends hosting your own craft bizarre – so creative!

    and i wish i had a cute/witty name for your glue gun – i will gladly think of some suggestions and send them your way!

  2. Cute Husband says:

    Two things – (1) I think you should name her EJ, short for Ethel Junior, and (2) anyone else notice a theme? I bring home many presents for my wife?

    Think it’s time for the guest column!!!!

  3. Julie says:

    Congrats on the sales! I think its a great idea to have a sip and show with girlfriends. I have thought about doing this before but never took the plunge in setting it up. Visiting from NFF, enjoy the new glue gun :)

  4. Susie says:

    Our Target used to carry things for Hanukkah…used to. It makes me angry that the holiday is so unimportant at this time of year. Good for you for having a Target that supports both religions holidays. Now if we could see something for Kwanzaa…

  5. Sarah says:

    Hi! I’m stopping by from NFF. Love your blog :)

    Sarah
    http://craftingandcreativity.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

