Our Hanukkah Mantel

We finished our Hanukkah mantel decorating in the nick of time and are ready to show off our additions to this year’s display and a few old timer’s returning!

Here’s the whole shebang~

And now the details ~

Here are my glittered dreidles a la Martha:

{An extremely easy, but messy project!  Simply coat wooden dreidles with glue and cover with fine glitter a few sides at a time.  I highly recommend a tray for this project!}

My large apothecary jars are filled with an assortment of styrofoam balls I covered in different textures of blues and gold yarns.

This year we added some glittery gold candles {it IS the Festival of Lights, after all} and gold candlesticks for extra shine!

Finally, we string a wide ribbon from one end of our mantel to the other every year and hang our cards as they arrive.  It’s one of The Cuties favorite things to check the mail after school and open and hang up the cards.  Our mantel is tall enough that we can still build a fire, and sit there enjoying lovely photos and sentiments from all the people we love from around the country {my procrastination in finishing up my annual card project with last year’s cards finally paid off in being able to show you a “demo” before all the cards start arriving this year ~ I KNEW my laziness would be beneficial someday!}

The Lettered Cottage
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Decorating and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Our Hanukkah Mantel

  1. love those dreidels! i need to find an abundance of them and do something like this.

  2. cindy says:

    Lovely! The yarn styro balls are fab :) I also love the card garland…..Great bling too!

  3. So cute! Love the Big “G” hanging from your fireplace screen. The dreidels are especially cool!

  4. Lindy says:

    Love you sparkle and balance! The blue is a nice touch

  5. Cecilia says:

    Love the yarn balls! Great idea for the cards too. Very pretty mantel.

  6. Lovely, especially love the touch of the cards banner. So nice to have your loved ones in front of you like that.

  7. Very pretty! The dreidels look so good all glittery and together in the glass container. Happy Hanukkah!

  8. The dreidles are so cute. I love them! Your mantel looks very pretty. I love all of the gold.

  9. Those dreidles are gorgeous! You created a beautiful mantle! Happy Hanukkah – it starts Thursday, right?

  10. So beautiful! The card garland looks really great!

  11. Carolynn says:

    The bowl of glitter dreidels is so clever! I love the card garland too! Happy first day of Hanukkah!

    Carolynn

  12. Very very pretty mantel Alisha! Those colors are beautiful!
    Thanks so much for stopping by and your sweet comments on my blue paper wreath. I hope you do try it out next year! :)

  13. Lisa says:

    Love your glitter dreidels! Now I wanna make some of those too!

    Hope you have a great first night tonight!

  14. wespiegels says:

    Fantastic job! I love how you pulled it all together…Happy Hanukkah!

  15. Olive Cooper says:

    The yarn balls are cute and original. The mantle is lovely. Visiting from BNOTP. ♥O

  16. Donna says:

    I seriously love finding a Hannukah mantel among all the Christmas decorations! I didn’t even get ours decorated this year – we were out of town Thanksgiving weekend and Boom! it was Hannukah.

  17. Pamela says:

    All so very pretty! I love the way you displayed your cards! Happy Holidays!

  18. ProtoDoom says:

    Nice to find some Hanukkah decorating! Totally loving the glitter dreidls. Now I know what I’m getting my mom (in addition to the banner I’m making her).

    I’m working on some myself, but have let myself get totally wrapped up in things I’m making for friends.

  19. Joan says:

    Nicely done. I like that you used gold to mix it up a bit from the standard white and blue. Hmmm, glitter. The yarn adds texture in a subtle way.

    The dreidels are a whole pile of fun. The mantel calls for family and friends to get involved and take action. Hey, no pile of coins?

    Suddenly I realize how uncommon a Hanukkah mantel seems to be. Thanks for your photos.

  20. You may think me silly, but I had to write because I just found your beautiful mantle photo from last year featured on Judaism.com that is dated December 2011 and wanted to make sure that you knew it had been posted there. Just thought you’d get a kick out of it if you didn’t already know it.

    Happy Hanukah!
    Fredda
    http://www.themagnificentmagnet.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

