2011, Here We Come!

We are almost ready to ring in 2011 in the Felt So Cute household!

Another family is joining us for a very kid-friendly evening that is sure to be great fun, although I wonder if any of us will actually make it to midnight.

The tradition in our home is a particularly silly one since having children old enough to participate in any sort of New Year’s Eve festivities ~ our “dinner” starts with desserts to “close out” the old year and ends with all appetizers to “begin” the new year.  There is very little better to The Cuties than sitting down to the table and being presented with an array of desserts first and they have loved appetizers for dinner since they started on solid foods!

Here’s our table all set and ready ~

The centerpiece.  Big Cutie helped me put it together for the first time and I loved explaining to her what a frog was and teaching her my little tricks about how to turn grocery store flowers into an arrangements!

You can see the felt party hats I made for The Cuties and their friends here and while the men have rather boring black top hats

I made silver glittered pipe cleaner tiara for me and my girlfriend from this tutorial {I did make a few small adjustments including 2 pipe cleaners for the base circle since I have a HOUS [Head of Unusual Size ~ bonus points for anyone catching a reference to my favorite movie!], and I added a 6th point to the tiara}.


My decorating assistants came up with the fun idea to stash the beaded necklaces we have for everyone in their glasses~don’t they look festive!  And I love how great our art deco champagne glasses look with all the black, gold and silver.  Cute BFF gave them to us as a wedding present and I love to pull them out and think of her!

We made posters for the kids to write on down in the playroom so they can share what they liked about 2010 and what they’re looking forward to in 2011.

Finally, I want to really thank the visitors to this Blog.  When I started it in September I had no idea if anyone other than Cute Husband and my BFF would ever read it, and sometime yesterday we hit over 50,000 site visits in just over three months!  Many, many thanks for your interest and all your comments and please keep coming back!

Tablescape Information:
Chargers: Target (50% sale ~ I grabbed tons of them!)
Plates: Sur La Table
Silverware: Macy’s Tools of the Trade
Red Wine Glasses: Crate & Barrel
Champagne Glasses: Gift from Europe
Kids’ Juice Glasses: Crate & Barrel
Napkins: Target Clearance
Tablecloth: http://www.trendytablecloths.com
Jeweled Pear Place Cards: TJ Maxx
New Year’s Paper Goods: iParty & Party City
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Parties and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2011, Here We Come!

  1. Denise says:

    Well, I can see why you had 50,000 hits. You ARE a hit. The table is wonderful, the hats are clever and the tutorial is very clear. I’ll be back for sure!

  2. Jacqueline says:

    It is sooo gratifying to have so many read your blog isn’t it! Congratulations on so many visitors. I love your fun family friendly ideas. I want to implement some of them too. Have a wonderful New Year!

  3. How fun to be at your place for New Year’s! Love the traditions you’ve come up with especially the desserts to appetizers meal – perfect for the dessert lover in me! The pipe cleaner tiaras are so unique – what talent you have!
    Happy New Year!

    DD

  4. I LOVE the idea about starting dinner with dessert and ending with appetizers, that is so awesome!

    And I know I’d rather work around a HOUS than a ROUS. Or at the very least, a HOUS can be contained with a few extra pipecleaners!

  5. i love it all! eating backwards is super smart, having the kiddos write about 2010/2011 will give you great insight, i’m sure. oh, and the movie-is it the princess bride? i feel like i may have heard it there.

  6. What a fun post. I enjoyed all about it and signed up for your newsletter. Happy New Year.

  7. Love your party planning — such inspiration for when our grands get a bit older. I’m sure this will be a great memory maker for your kids too. Love the fun table….what a great start to the new year!

  8. Any party that starts with dessert has to be great. Your tablescape is darling. Thank you for sharing your charming design. Happy New Year! Cherry Kay

  9. tess says:

    What cute ideas for New Years to inclued your kids…I’ll bet the love it!!! The table is adorable!

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

