Super Bowl Party Prep

Our invitations just arrived for our Super Bowl party and while I was getting them ready to mail I thought it would be fun to show you what we do in the Felt So Cute household.

This year I got my act together early enough to actually order a “real” invitation and love the one I found ~ the challenge is always that I need to take care of some of my preparations and details like this long before I actual know which teams are playing, so I look for semi-generic football-type stuff.  I swear I don’t only use Tiny Prints, but I did again for this party.

“Super Bowls” refers to the soup and ice cream buffets we serve!  In an effort to go green and save some money, I realized that purchasing simple white ceramic bowls for $1 each made much more sense than buying the high end paper goods I’d need in order to serve soup and ice cream to people all over my house AND I’d have them year after year.

My first project was designing a tablecloth.  I knew exactly what I wanted, and this was my very first foray into the world of extreme felt purchasing!  I started with several yards of grass green felt off the bolt and spread it across my table.  I then added white duct tape as my yardage markers and some white foam numbers that I ran through my Xyron machine with the sticker cartridge {I had hoped to add little iron-on numbers in a font that reminded me of what’s used on jerseys, but at $2.99 each, it was simply cost prohibitive for how many I needed and something that in all honesty was likely to be spilled on!}.

We served tomato basil and vegetable lentil soups and then on the other side of the table we had what The Cuties called “fancy sandwiches;” bacon, lettuce, tomato & avocado; black forest ham, brie and dijon mustard on baguettes; and since the Saints played last year, of course we needed Muffalettas!

After dinner, I cleared this buffet and set up big tubs of ice cream and big bowls with all sorts of toppings: crushed oreos, rainbow sprinkles, football sprinkles, gummy bears, cherries, caramel sauce, whipped cream, m&ms, and hot fudge {no nuts as some of our friends’ children have peanuts allergies}.  Cute Husband undertook the challenge of ensuring the hot fudge remained hot throughout the buffet.  There were numerous purchases, a series of spreadsheets and possibly a Venn diagram involved.  It was quite the project!

This year, I’m hoping to add a different centerpiece and some how incorporate miniature football men.  I’m also trying to work out in my head how to temporarily cover the front of our downstairs refrigerator with some chalkboard fabric I have so people can “trash talk” all over it throughout the game.  And of course, once we know the actual teams, there’s all sorts of fun to be had…..

How do you make your Super Bowl Super?

Linked to:
C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Keeping it Simple, Craft-O-Maniac, Dittle Dattle
This entry was posted in Decorating, Parties and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Super Bowl Party Prep

  1. MrsTass says:

    LOVE your party idea! Especially how easy soup and ice cream are to serve ; )
    Oh and I do have to ask… your china in the cabinet could it be Lenox Urban Lights??

  2. Man, I thought we were doing great to have dip, chips and pretzels. This was a great party idea. How about getting black poster board and colored markers for the trash talk. Maybe tape it to the fridge. You should be a party planner. What a fun read.

  3. Kat says:

    What a great idea! Where did you get the bowls?

    • feltsocute says:

      I looked around at a lot of places, and these were the most substantial ones I could find and the finish really coordinated with our everyday stuff. They’re from The Christmas Tree Shoppe {fyi ~ you’ll have to really go through the stock as a lot were in cruddy shape, but these have totally stood up and we’re pleasantly surprised at how often they come in handy and are used!}.

  4. Sasha says:

    You are so talented and creative! Love your ideas.

  5. Great party idea!!

    I wanted to let you know you’ve been featured for Craftify It Thursday on Life with the Lebedas Blog. Hope you’ll swing by and grab the feature button. Your also welcome to link up other crafts!

    http://lebedafamily.blogspot.com/2010/01/craftify-it-thursday-valentines-edition.html

    Have an awesome Thursday!
    Jennifer

  6. I am sure your guests loved all the details of your party! I am obsessed with using white dishes for everything!

    Susan,
    http://entertainexchange.blogspot.com/
    Party and Entertaining Inspiration

  7. JoyceG says:

    Did you know that there is blackboard fabric? You might be able to make a panel of some sorts for your fridge door with it!

Leave a Reply

