A Valentine’s Mantel

I’m one of those people who often has a ton of ideas about things I want to “get to” running around in my head and usually only about half of them actually come to fruition.  So I’m finding that a nice end result of blogging is that I have some built in deadlines when there are linky parties I’m motivated to join.

So that’s my long-winded introduction as to why my mantel has been decorated for Valentine’s Day before the end of January but the trick or treat bags still haven’t made their way back up to the proper bin in the attic.  I’m a riddle, what can I say?

To give my topiary a little more height, I grabbed some red and pink books from around the house that represented “love” to nestle in next to my little birdie.  Cute Husband loves Frank Lloyd Wright, I love Lilly, we both love to throw parties in our home and of course a well worn copy of Shakespeare.   OK, I’m stretching it a bit, but it works.

Usually, we have two topiaries flanking our mantle in black urns.  But for this design, I took one down and took the remaining one out of it’s “fancy” urn, but thought it did need a little something still.  This is where I know I was born to be the mother of daughters.  So when I get a hare-brained idea like I need to figure out how I can turn candy conversation hearts into something stringable, I readily have a stash of pony beads at my disposal that I can glue to the tops and voila!

On the other side of the mantle, I stole another piece of large red glass from the top of my armoire, added a tassel, and changed out the candles to red.  The little glass heart is a paperweight, balanced on it’s side.

I’m glad this is the one room in my house that happens to have red in the decor so it actually works here to change things up a bit for Valentine’s Day.  It’s still so cold and bleak out {it was -2 this morning!}  that I need a big pop of color right now.

 

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Decorating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Valentine’s Mantel

  1. cyndi says:

    that looks nice. I have red in my living room as well, though i did go a bit overboard with the pink this year! I really like what you’ve done!

  2. oh my goodness you turned those candy hearts into a decorative garland! So clever!

  3. bon says:

    Do you have a tutorial / link for the adorable felt garland! I love it!

Leave a Reply

