My ‘Go To’ Notebook

I organize with 3-ring binders quite a bit, but one notebook is really my ‘Go To’ Gal.

My Holiday & Party Planning Binder!

Isn’t she cute?

Inside, is a tab for every holiday or party we might host throughout the year: New Year’s, Little Cutie’s Birthday, Valentine’s Day, Passover, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Big Cutie’s Birthday, Halloween, Thanksgiving and Hanukkah.

I created this notebook when I realized I was often reinventing the wheel, year after year when in came to planning menus or looking for tablescape ideas.  Now, I put the menus and recipes I choose for each holiday in its section {and try and remember to add any notes after the big day!}, and add in pictures from magazines of centerpieces, desserts or table settings I might want to try.

I also keep a clear sleeve at the back of each section to slip in invitations.  It’s a nice way to save the invitations from year to year.  RSVP lists, goody bag ideas, and any contracts are also stored in the birthday sections.

In the Hanukkah section, I keep my master card list in addition to recipes and table setting ideas, and also a copy of all my cards in the sleeve in back.

I find this notebook to be especially helpful when I’m juggling multiple events or holidays at once which happens to us a few times a year since Big Cutie’s birthday often overlaps with Halloween and/or the Jewish High Holy Days and Little Cutie’s birthday planning overlaps with Hanukkah cards and New Year’s.  PHEW!

What’s your workhorse binder?

Linked to:

All Thingz Related

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Organizing, Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My ‘Go To’ Notebook

  1. J&Z's Mom says:

    Love, love, love this idea – especially for annual festivities like Thanksgiving, which I am always trying to perfect. Thank you!

  2. Patti says:

    I keep a notebook very much like this. It helps me to remember who was invited, the food, decorations etc. Saves so much time and stress when planning parties for the coming year. Thanks for sharing your notebook.

Leave a Reply

