A Sentimental Fool, Am I

Let me start by saying I’m not a big saver.  I’ve got a relatively small bin in the attic for both girls and it holds their coming home outfits, 1st birthday outfits, a favorite pair of pajamas both girls wore, and one or two special outfits in addition to a few precious blankets, hats and silver rattles.  So if I saved it, I really want it.

So imagine the complete and total FREAK out I had for the past hour when I could not locate Little Cutie’s first pair of ballet slippers that I knew I had saved.  I’ve torn apart the attic that I literally just cleaned and organized two months ago.  I’ve disassembled her closet and every possible box and bin therein.  Finally, as I had the phone in hand, tears welling my eyes, about to call Cute Husband at work and whine about this tragedy tell him the sad news, I had a Eureka! moment and remembered exactly where they were!

Apparently, I’m highly organized, but occasionally need a treasure map to get to the goodies.

So now I can show you a quick, easy, inexpensive and oh so sweet piece of art I’ve got for the collage wall I’m putting together for her new room.

I started with a Ribba frame from IKEA.  I like these because they can go with a traditional or modern aesthetic, the mat can be used in the front or back of the frame, it’s square for a little something different, and at $19.99 for the frame and mat, it’s a bargain.

I then took two pieces of $0.59 12″ square scrapbook paper, some adhesive dots and my tape runner.

I wanted two layers of color behind the white mat, so I trimmed my aqua piece of paper to be about a half inch smaller all the way around than my pink piece, using my paper cutter {if you don’t have a paper cutter, I highly recommend purchasing an inexpensive one ~ not a week goes by when I don’t use it for something or another!}.

I then adhered the two papers together using the tape runner, and put a line of tape all the way around the back of the mat and attached the papers.  Then I added a few adhesive dots to backs of the ballet shoes and positioned them in the center of my frame!

I put the whole thing back together in the glass and closed it up!  I love how it turned out and it makes me smile.  Little Cutie has now moved on from ballet to jazz and hip hop, but she has always been a dancing fool.

Those teeny tiny shoes?  She wore them at age two! Hot shot that she is, she managed to charm her way into her big sister’s dance class while still in diapers and practically stole the show at the recital.  Who could resist her?

Linked to:
Hope Studios, Coastal Charm, All Thingz Related, Sugar Bee, Tip Junkie, Not Just a Housewife, Today’s Creative Blog, Blue Cricket Design, My Backyard Eden, Nikki’s Nifty Knacks, Young Nester, The Thrifty Home, Sew Much Ado, Ladybug Blessings, Someday Crafts, Beyond the Picket Fence, Somewhat Simple, The Shabby Chic Cottage, House of Hepworths, Fireflies and Jellybeans, Elements Interiors, Yesterday on Tuesday, Paisley Passions, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Fun to Craft, Finding Fabulous, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, My Romantic Home, The Shabby Nest, Home is Where My Story Begins, Frugal & Fabulous Design, Serenity Now, Tatertots and Jello, A Vision to Remember, Along for the Ride, Be Different Act Normal, Creative Jewish Mom, I Heart Naptime
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Sentimental Fool, Am I

  1. Jane says:

    AHHHHHHHH
    How sweet is that!

  2. How SWEET! I love it! I would love for you to stop by and link up to my Ten Buck Tuesday link party (it lasts all week)!

  3. Kristen says:

    Aww this is so cute!! would love if you ever have a chance to come link up to handmade tuesdays @ ladybug blessings. http://www.ladybug-blessings.com

  4. radnav says:

    Such a cute idea! The girls look like angels!

    I am having a giveaway on my blog. $35 credit + free shipping from Paige Holliday designs to get any one custom designed trendy backpack.
    All you have to do is leave a comment.

    http://houseonashwelllane.blogspot.com/2011/03/35-store-credit-free-shipping-to-get.html

  5. Absolutely ADORABLE!!!

    I LOVE this! Come on ova’ and link up to WHASSUP!!! xoxokara

    *ENTER LINKY PAR-TAY Here! *

  6. Tammy says:

    This is darling! Linking up today on my blog. Please stop by and grab a featured button! ;)

  7. Hootin' Anni says:

    Oh yes!!! I’m so glad you found them, but you never did mention just WHERE you had them saved, LOL….but the idea and the finished framed work is outstanding!!!

    My Friday’s Link:
    My Handmade Lighthouse Dolphin Shelf

    I do hope you’ll find time to stop by for a visit with me. Have a super weekend!!!

    • feltsocute says:

      LOL – they were in archival boxes I have for each girl that were stashed inside an armoire. I regularly see them and say to myself – those totally don’t belong here and need to be relocated! Your shelf is lovely!

  8. The ballet shoes are so cute… great idea to frame them and showcase. Your little angels are adorable!

  9. Lyuba says:

    This is too sweet! my little sister would love this!!!

    http://willcookforsmiles.blogspot.com/

  10. Michelle says:

    Awww! What cuties! Love the teeny little ballet shoes!

  11. Mel says:

    What a beautiful and meaningful way to capture such a sweet time.

  12. Oh, that is precious! I love this idea…both my girls have their first pair of ballet shoes right now, and I plan on keep them. Love this idea for display! I still have my first pair of pointe shoes!

    Thanks for joining my Weekend Bloggy Reading party. :)

  13. Sarah says:

    So cute! I wish I still had my first pair, but at least I have my first pair of pointe shoes that I”m saving to do something with when they are dead.

  14. Wendybv says:

    Too cute! I have such issues with that stuff. I don’t keep a TON of stuff, but I have things I want to keep & can never decide where to store them. They have been moved around in our room so many times!

  15. That is just too sweet! Thanks for sharing on craft schooling Sunday, great to see you!

Leave a Reply

