A Monogram with Bling!

In working on the accessories for Little Cutie’s room renovation and redecorating, I wanted to make her some new throw pillows for her bed.  I’ve seen a bunch of great initial pillows made of various sized buttons on Etsy and in catalogs and originally thought to go that route, but then I thought some more about Little Cutie.  Since this room will be a surprise reveal for her I really and truly want it to be “very her” and there’s nothing that screams Little Cutie more than some bling.

As always with my initial projects, I printed a large letter on cardstock {this is Times Roman at about 650 pt}.

Then using my small craft scissors {or you could use an x-acto knife} I carefully cut out the initial, leaving myself a negative template.  I pinned it to the center of the piece of fabric that will be the top of my pillow.

Using an assortment of rhinestones, I “filled in” my template completely, leaving as little space as possible.  When I had finished, I simply lifted the paper template off and had my initial perfectly created in bling!

All that was left to do was to sew up an envelope style pillow cover, flip it and fill it!  This whole project cost under five dollars {$1.79 for the pillow insert at Ikea, $1 worth of fabric and less than $2 worth of rhinestones}!

And here it is next to the fun bedding ~

A Crafty Soiree
Linked to:
C.R.A.F.T., The Girl Creative, Keeping it Simple, Between Naps on the Porch, Crafto-O-Maniac, The DIY Showoff, Skip to My Lou, Making the World Cuter, Mad in Crafts, Coastal Charm, Hope Studios, Creating My Way to Success, The Stories of A to Z, All Thingz Related, Creative Itch, Sugar Bee, Tip Junkie, Today’s Creative Blog, Not Just a Housewife, My Backyard Eden, Blue Cricket Design, Running With Glitter, The Thrifty Home, Sew Much Ado, 733, Someday Crafts, Night Owl Crafting, Somewhat Simple, Beyond the Picket Fence, The Shabby Chic Cottage, House of Hepworths, Fireflies and Jellybeans, The CSI Project, Frugal & Fabulous Design, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, My Romantic Home, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, The Shabby Nest, Yesterday on Tuesday, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Fun to Craft, Finding Fabulous, Serenity Now, Tatertots and Jello, Along for the Ride, Be Different Act Normal, A Vision to Remember, Craft Envy, Kojo Designs, Simply Designing
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Monogram with Bling!

  1. Malinda says:

    Love it! That looks like something I might even be able to do. Can’t wait to see her finished room.

  2. audrey ayers says:

    Did you hot glue the rhinestones to the pillow fabric?

  3. Jill says:

    Great blingy pillow – my daughters would love something like this!

    I would love if you came over and linked this project to my weekly Round Tuit party at:
    http://jembellish.blogspot.com/
    Have a great week!
    Jill @ Creating my way to Success

  4. haley davis says:

    Oh I love anything shiny! Super fabulous job!

  5. Monica says:

    This is fabulous! My sister-in-law made me one similar for Christmas but with buttons instead of bling. Great minds! =)

    Visiting from The Girl Creatives blog hop =)

    Monica @ Ella Bella Butterfly

  6. radnav says:

    All girls love bling!

    I am having a $35 store credit + free shipping giveaway on my blog. A chance to select a custom trendy backpack for your kid from Paige Holliday Designs. All you have to do is leave a comment.
    check it out!

    http://houseonashwelllane.blogspot.com/2011/03/35-store-credit-free-shipping-to-get.html

  7. Elizabeth says:

    this is great! and much cheaper than buying one online (which we’ve done). yay, thanks for the fabulous idea!!

  8. So creative! Love this post…thank you for linking up to Whassup Wednesday! Hope to see you tomorrow:)

    xoxokara

  9. Sue says:

    Saw you on Coastal Charm and had to stop in. Love the pillow especially since it has an S on it. I just may try that myself.

  10. I love the initial pillow and I love the lime and hot pink fabric in the last shot. I was even going to say it reminded me of Lilly Pulitzer (I am a South Florida/ Boca girl- so I know some Lilly when I see it) then I saw your entry before this one about Lilly Pulitzer and I had to smile!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog, I Love My Three Sons and leaving a comment!

  11. Kelly says:

    Love it!I’m hosting my first Linky party and would love for you to submit to it!

    http://runwithglitter.blogspot.com/2011/03/glitters-first-linky-party_22.html#comments

  12. Jill says:

    Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!
    Hope you have a great week!

    Jill @ Creating my way to Success
    http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

  13. Jessica says:

    Love this idea! Thank you for sharing!

    ~Jessica
    inspirationthief.blogspot.com

  14. I clicked on this projects from one of the linky parties and I’m so excited to see that it’s yours! It’s gorgeous and I LOVE it! I’m going to have to figure out a pillow to do this with! Thanks for sharing!

  15. Love the bling! Looks good against the green. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Wendybv says:

    That is really cute! My 6 year old would love that.

  17. I absolutely adore this project! I’m a big fan of “bling” and this is nice because it’s not over the top. Silhouette has a rhinestone kit that does something similar, but I love that you did this on your own. Fantastic work!

    Thank you so much for joining my Weekend Bloggy Reading party. :)

  18. marybt says:

    That’s very cute!

    Get well soon.

Leave a Reply

