Flower Power Pillow

After a full week of being sick in bed looking at what I believe to be literally every single craft project in Blogland, I was Jonesing to start a project when I finally felt up to it today.

First of my list was this absolutely adorable project from Come Together Kids.  Her tutorial was outstanding and made this project a piece of cake.  Of course, I had to make mine out of felt, because well, that’s how I roll {and the best part about this project was that I had 100% of the materials on hand in the house, which was an especially good thing since I’ve still got plenty of codeine coursing through my veins and Cute Husband wasn’t about to give me the keys to the car yet!}.

I started with my leaves ~ I just free cut a double layer of my shape and then used coordinating thread to sew the veins.  This is the first time I’ve ever used my sewing machine to “draw” anything and I’m hooked!

I then traced a dinner plate in my flower color with a disappearing ink pen and sewed up all but a few inches.  I stuffed it with fiberfill and sewed up the hole.  I then sewed the two leaves to the pillow over where I’d done my hand sewing {because my hand sewing is weak enough it should be covered at all times!}

Next I made a quick petal template out of cardstock ~ not because the petals need to be perfect, but to help me keep them relatively the same size.  I recently invested in my first pair of Gingher scissors and this is the first project I’ve used them on.  Oh.my.word.  Like BUTTER, I say!  I’ve now lectured the entire family that they are not to touch my new scissors and should there arise some sort of unforeseen scissor emergency, they must never use them on paper.  But I digress.

I put a dab of hot glue in the bottom middle of each petal to pinch it together and give it body and then simply hot glued the petals around the edge of the pillow.  And then repeated with a concentric circle with the same sized petals.

For the third petal layer, I made a template about two-thirds the size of my original template.  This layer left me about a one to two inch blank spot in the middle.  I cut two inch circles with my pinking shears for a “ruffly” look and folded them into quarters.  I then snipped the point off and glued a bunch down in the middle for the flower’s center.

I’m imagining this pillow in the hanging chair that’s going in Little Cutie’s new room with a hot pink blanket.  LOVE the colors together.

Little Cutie saw it and gave me one of her highest compliments ~ she said it looked like a fancy cake!  For my girl with a sweet tooth, that’s high praise :)

Linked to:
C.R.A.F.T., The Girl Creative, Craft-O-Matic, The DIY Showoff, Keeping it Simple, Between Naps on the Porch, Centsational Girl, Singing Three Little Birds, Making the World Cuter, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Skip to My Lou, Mad in Crafts, Sew Chatty, Coastal Charm,Tip Junkie, Today’s Creative Blog, Hope Studios, All Thingz Related, Sugar Bee, The Creative Itch, Not Just a Housewife, The Stories of A to Z, Sew Much Ado, Nikki’s Nifty Knacks, Blue Cricket Design, Organize and Decorate Everything, The Thrifty Home, 733, Someday Crafts, Night Owl Crafting, CSI Project, Somewhat Simple, The Shabby Chic Cottage, House of Hepworths, Kojo Designs, Finding Fabulous, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, My Romantic Home, The Shabby Nest, Frugal & Fabulous Design, Tatertots & Jello
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Flower Power Pillow

  1. This is darling! Love the color.

  2. Michelle says:

    Turned out very cute!

  3. Dana says:

    Darling pillow! I love the color and it looks so easy! LOVE IT!
    Dana @ D’Lea Designs

  4. Alisha, your pillow turned out awesome!! I love the color.

  5. Rachel says:

    Looks like we were both inspired by the same flower pillow! :) Yours turned out adorable! I made some changes to mine, if you are interested in seeing…. :)

    http://sunscholars.blogspot.com/2011/03/flower-pillows.html

  6. It is so adorable! Love the color you used :)

  7. Pingback: Flower Power Pillow | Felt So Cute | sofa|Pillow|Sofa cushions|Quilt|Cushion – Xintiandi Plaza, welcome to buy home - sofa,Pillow,long pillow,mattress,baby bath towels,Sofa cushions,sofa mart,cushion,heated seats,Bedspread,Towel,tea towel,Quilt,quil

  8. Trica says:

    How cute is that!!! Love the colors!

  9. Your pillow turned out wonderfully!
    I will have to give it a try myself.

  10. Julie says:

    Very nice! I’d love for you to link up at Inspire Me Mondays @ Singing Three Little Birds!

    http://singingthreelittlebirds.blogspot.com/2011/03/inspire-me-monday_28.html

  11. Awe, such a cute pillow. Love the colors you used. Thanks for the tutorial.

  12. very cute! And looks easy enough that I might try it myself!

  13. Debby from http://redecoratingonawhim.blogspot.com/ says:

    Adorable! Love the colors…. Stopping by from Sumos sweet stuff .

  14. Heather says:

    This is adorable! Oh, how I wish I wasn’t afraid of my sewing machine!

  15. jodi says:

    I just love this pillow; I know my daughter would love it if I made this for her! :)

  16. Grace says:

    Love the colour – it’s adorable.

  17. That is so super cute, I’ll have to make some of those for my little girls room!

  18. Taunnie says:

    I so love this pillow! I want to rush out and get some felt right now. I can’t wait to try making this on my own. The tutorial was great. Thanks for sharing!

  19. Beautiful! I just ran accross that tutorial the other day and loved it. I love the color combo with that hot pink blanket.

  20. Tabitha says:

    I adore this!!! It would be so cute to have a bunch of them in different colors. Thanks a whole bunch for sharing. :-D

  21. ShannonSews says:

    Perfect for spring! And I love all your details. I’ve been wanting to “draw” with my machine too but my straight stitch maneuvering hasn’t worked very well – what setting did you use?

  22. What a lovely pillow. Love the colours and the detail on the leaves is excellent. Love it. x

  23. I LOVE this! Its PERFECT for you to Link up at my Linky PAR-TAY,

    Whassup Wednesday!!!

    And I have a party button you can grab so your friends can come too:)

    *ENTER LINKY PAR-TAY Here! *

    xoxokara

  24. Fabulous idea! thank you so much for sharing! Can’t wait to make to make one for my girlie girl!

    ~Jessica
    inspirationthief.blogspot.com

  25. MJ says:

    I love this!

  26. xmaggiex says:

    hiya ,cute cushion and great tutorial , tfs , i am visiting from someday crafts and am your newest follower maybe you will pop by mine and follow too
    http://www.emilysnan.blogspot.com
    xmaggiex

  27. Joy says:

    Very cute pillow!

  28. Krysti says:

    I love this pillow. I have been checking it out all week on the linky parties and just had a thought. If I love it so much, why have I not told you. I love to get comments, so I should give as many as I can right? Just wanted to let you know, this pillow is AWESOME!

  29. Hi! I’m stopping by from the UBP! That pillow turned out great! I love meeting new bloggers so stop by and visit to see how I am creating a healthy home for my family if you get the chance! I’m your newest follower!

  30. I just realized that felt may be my new crafting obsession through all of the great photos on Pinterest. Glad to have found your blog so I can learn more about it and get inspired!

  31. Pingback: Great Ideas -- Sewing Projects {1}

Leave a Reply

