Arts & Crafts for Mommy

I’m still working on my big room switch-a-roonie for Little Cutie and needed to come up with something for over her bed.  I have “issues” with hanging anything too large or heavy over beds even though we don’t live in a location with even remotely a risk of earthquakes.  Yet another thing I’m neurotic about ~ the list goes on and on!

So I found this huge cardboard ‘S’ (15″x22″) at Joann’s Fabric & Crafts and lucked out in that it was both on sale and I had a coupon, bringing it down to about $5.

I first thought about just painting it a bright color to coordinate with her new bedding and then I walked past the jars of Mod Podge and got an idea.  I had just bought some fun Lilly Pulitzer wrapping paper in the same colors as her room, and liked the idea of another bright print but not a perfect match.

All I did was tear up pieces of wrapping paper, dab on some Mod Podge with a disposable foam brush and then cover the paper with another coat of Mod Podge.  SUPER easy and SUPER messy.  I don’t normally do very messy craft projects and I LOVED it.  I was so in the zone and I totally get now why every time my children start a project they feel the need to use an entire bottle of Elmer’s glue for one small thing.  Sticky fingers are fun!

And here’s the finished product.  I think it will look sweet over her bed against a bright turquoise wall.  Now I just have to decide if I want a hidden hanger or to use a hot pink satin ribbon and this fun knob in green as a hook.  What do you think?

Linked to:
C.R.A.F.T., Creative Jewish Mom, Keeping it Simple, Making the World Cuter, Between Naps on the Porch, Hope Studios, Skip to My Lou, Coastal Charm, Tip Junkie, Today’s Creative Blog, My Backyard Eden, Somewhat Simple, Beyond the Picket Fence, The Shabby Chic Cottage
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Arts & Crafts for Mommy

  1. Shauhn says:

    Love it! Definitely go with the satin & knob. That will look soo cute. Post after pics, please. :)

  2. Myrna says:

    Satin and knob! Much cuter — for the little cutie!

    Myrna

  3. Ana Mitchell says:

    Love it. I agree with the satin an knob. Too cute.

  4. Haley Herring says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, and I’m finally going to comment because I feel so inclined to say that you should totally do the satin ribbon with the knob!

  5. Emily says:

    Gemstone knob all the way! Love it! If she ever wanted to switch things up a bit, you could always change it to a hidden hanger in the back and incorporate the “S” into a display with photos, mementos, etc.

  6. Melanie says:

    You inspired me! I have been trying to come up with something personalized and cute for my daughter’s room for a while now, and after seeing this post, I ran out and bought the supplies. I used a scrapbook paper pack with 8 coordinating papers, which gave it somewhat of a “patchwork” effect….and it turned out so completely adorable! Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. I absolutely LOVE mod podge! Please stop by Sew Woodsy and link up this project! It’s awesome!

  8. Leah says:

    I absolutely love this project! I am dying to do this for my bedroom door but I have one problem – my name starts with an ‘L’ and I want to hang it with a satin ribbon and knob. I don’t know how to make it look cute without it hanging from the ribbon. I am obsessed with how adorable it looks and I just have to have it that way. I thought about finding an ‘L’ in a cursive font but I don’t think that’d look as good. Do you have any suggestions?

    • feltsocute says:

      Yes, I do! We are currently in an apartment in Japan and brought it with us. I punched a small hole in the back and used the small 3M hooks – you could do this at the top of the ‘L’ and at the horizontal for balance. Then the ribbon and knob would just be for aesthetics and no one would be the wiser!

      • Leah says:

        Ah, thank you so much! I came across your blog when Lilly Pulitzer posted about Little Cutie donating her hair on National LP Day – that story had me teary-eyed because my mom’s a 4 year breast cancer survivor – and I read the entire blog in one sitting. I have to say you have the best ideas! I’ll post a picture on the Felt So Cute Facebook page when I actually get the project finished but it might be a while because I have midterms coming up!

  9. Paige says:

    This is ADORABLE! I had bought all of the supplies for this project and my only question is: how big should the ripped up pieces be? Thanks so much!

    • feltsocute says:

      Totally up to you, although I think the size of your design and repeat probably dictate it the most. Mine were about 3″x3″ I think. When I did this technique again on the small ‘G’ for my entryway in a later post, I used closer to 1.5″x1.5″ sized pieces.

Leave a Reply

