Headband Holders

As you can imagine here in the Felt So Cute household we have quite a few headbands.

And by “quite a few headbands” I mean 1,274 or so.  Therefore headband storage is a regular problem for us.  As part of The Great Room Redo for Little Cutie, I decided to tackle this issue.

I started with an empty Quaker Oats container and covered with a double layer of batting {I wanted the headbands to fit fairly snugly so they wouldn’t slip out of position}.

Then I covered it with some plain fabric {recognize it from this project?}.  I first made a quick hem with my glue gun to give it a smooth edge, and on the top and bottom I cut slits to make it easier to pull the fabric around the curves.

I bought some basic wooden shapes from Michaels – a round base, a doll’s head and the other piece was a part of a candlestick that I sawed part off to get the shape I wanted.

I painted them with a couple of coats of acrylic paint and then hit them with my favorite fixative to prevent any chipping when little hands use it.

I then glued the candlestick portion to the round base and attached it to the bottom of my oats container and the doll’s head to the top.

And here it is all ready to go!  Now I just need to make two more and I think she’ll be set {until a new season hits and she gets to go “shopping” in Mommy’s office for new ones!}

Linked to:

Tatertots and Jello, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Be Different Act Normal, A Vision to Remember, Along for the Ride, Craft Envy, Creative Jewish Mom, C.R.A.F.T., The Girl Creative, Making the World Cuter, Craft-O-Matic, The DIY Showoff, Homemaker on a Dime, Keeping it Simple, Mad in Crafts, Skip to My Lou, Tip Junkie, Creating a House of Grace, Today’s Creative Blog, Running with Glitter, Hope Studios, Coastal Charm, Not Just a Housewife, Sew Much Ado, My Backyard Eden, Blue Cricket Design, Fingerprints on the Fridge, It’s a Hodgepodge Life, Finding Fabulous, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, My Romantic Home, The Shabby Nest, Tatertots and Jello
This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Headband Holders

  1. Sarah Kind says:

    Don’t remember how I found your blog (maybe it was a bowl full of lemons?), but I love your house and style! The character reminds me of our old house. Now, if I could just get our new house to have that…
    Your daughters are beautiful! Thanks for sharing with us.

  2. lauren says:

    What a clever idea! My girls are both 20 now but I wish I’d had something like this to keep them organized when they were little! Love the bright colors you used too!

  3. Christine says:

    What a great idea! We have hundreds of hairbows and those have been easy to make things to store them on, however I have hit a bump with headbands. thanks for the great idea!

  4. angie says:

    love that it was made from items you reused and is so useful and very cute come see me at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  5. This is such a clever and creative idea! Such a perfect way to store headbands! Thanks for sharing – Hope you had a wonderful weekend!
    ~Stephanie Lynn
    http://www.bystephanielynn.com

  6. Kadie says:

    How clever is that?!! I have been trying to think of a way to keep all the headbands out of the way! I love this. It is for sure going on my to do list! Thanks for shareing.

    Kadie @ Seven Alive

  7. That’s a great idea! I’ve heard of people using paper towel rolls to display headbands at shows. Makes sense to have something more permanent either for home or display. Thanks for sharing your creative idea with us.

  8. kathryn says:

    this is a great idea! so cute and fun. i love it.

    kathryn
    http://www.thedragonsfairytail.blogspot.com

  9. Hi, I just landed here from the Making Monday Marvelous @Craft Link Party. I’m a brand new follower.

    This is incredibly creative. What a fantastic idea.

    Bella Vida by Letty

  10. adorable! thanks so much for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday, great to see you!

  11. ashley says:

    LOVE EM…i want a little girl next so i can do this kinda stuff.. :)

  12. Stylish and functional! Love it :) Linking this up with us made the Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop better and more special. Thank you!

  13. amanda says:

    so funny I have a quaker tube sitting in my craft room waiting for me to make it in to this, you read mine mind love it :)

  14. Susan says:

    Love this!

  15. shavonna says:

    WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT!

Leave a Reply

