A Glorious Day at the Pool

Big Cutie has been working hard at her swimming.  Please don’t underestimate the magnitude of that statement.  Lots of kids try hard, but swimming for Big Cutie is a particularly big challenge.

Think about the motion of your freestyle swim stroke.  Lifting your arm up alongside your body, up out of the water, over your head to pull and scoop, and alternate evenly so you swim straight.  At the same time, you need to kick with both legs to propel yourself forward.  And of course, the ever popular, don’t forget to breathe.  Now imagine one side of your body working at about 25%.

Feeling tired yet?

Big Cutie has wanted to pass the swim test at our pool so badly; she’s practiced with swim lessons all year and worked daily at camp.  Today, she looked me dead in the eye and told me with all her heart and soul she felt ready to try.

And she was!

I imagine people who don’t know our story were wondering who the crazy lady in the big floppy hat was running along the side of the pool screaming and cheering and then jumping up and down.  And then as Big Cutie ran off to the deep end congratulated by her friends, my sweet friends came and hugged me as I wept behind giant sunglasses thinking what an incredible moment it was for my girl.

In the car, on the way home, she was deep into her book and quietly lifted her head and told me “she appreciated my enthusiasm” and had heard me while swimming.

Oh honey, I appreciate YOUR enthusiasm!

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Glorious Day at the Pool

  1. Crafty Dad says:

    I am so proud of her, she is my hero too.

  2. kelly says:

    congratulations, BC! her enthusiasm and will to meet a goal are inspirational.

  3. Colleen says:

    Congrats to your sweet girl! I am cracking up at her comment. too cute!

  4. shandmaker says:

    Love that! Uncle Steben es muy proud!

  5. carrie says:

    as a person with a neice with CP who is affected more than your little one… I APPRECTIATE her enthusiasm too! And I appreciate YOU for believing she can do it and giving her wings to fly.

  6. msumissa says:

    In tears! What a fantastic milestone for her (and you!) Good Job Cutie!

  7. Jayde says:

    You don’t know me, nor do I know you, and I have only read a few posts, but this one made me cry! She is amazing.

  8. Mandalynn says:

    This post made me cry so I can only imagine how overwhelmed by tears you were to witness it! Congratulations to your sweet girl–way to go!

Leave a Reply

