Family Portraits

So in the middle of organizing and shopping and sorting and packing to move to the other side of the world you know what I thought would make total sense?

Scheduling a family portrait session.

Haven’t I been telling you people I need serious therapy?

And because I am me and I am a professional over-thinker, I spent an utterly ridiculous amount of time trying to figure out what we each should wear once the location had been chosen.  If you follow me on Pinterest, you saw that I had an entire board dedicated just to Photo Shoot Outfit ideas.  See?  Complete and total over-thinker.

I’m a big fan of coordinated v. matching ensembles and wanted something different than we’ve done in the past.  Because The Cuties were born in The South, we’ve done smocked dresses, monograms, and of course, Lilly Pulitzer ensembles for us all.  But this time, I wanted something that really highlighted the style of our photographer, the fabulous Heather Golde.

Heather’s pictures are fun.  They’re funky and silly.  She lets kids be kids and I’m going to totally share a secret with you ~ she likes to roll around in the grass with them while taking their pictures and they all giggle and she gets the best pictures as a result.

You like her already, don’t you?  You should go like her on Facebook just because she sounds so cool.  I’ll wait for you.

So in our consultation meeting Heather actually sat with me at the computer and helped me shop and put together outfits for The Cuties, since I like to start with them for family portraits and build Cute Husband and I around them.  It was really helpful to have a professional tell me what would work and what wouldn’t before I bought things or before we showed up for our shoot.  Genius!

We started with The Cuties out in a field in big poofy pettiskirts.  I really wanted to wear one too, but I didn’t want to create an international chiffon shortage crisis.  Heather pretty much took them and ran and Cute Husband and I sat around and had a date.  It was that painless of an evening.  I only had to resort to bribes with Smarties once or twice.  And Cute Husband managed to smile big for the rest of the night. ;-)

This one makes me smile!

Cute Husband and I never manage to get a photo of just the two of us, so I was especially happy to have this picture ~

So you know that over-thinking I did that enabled me to find perfectly coordinating dressed for The Cuties in shades of blues that complimented my navy and white top and Cute Husbands blue shirt perfectly?  Well we threw it out the window because the absolute most incredible family shot happened when we all just plopped on the ground while The Cuties were still in their pettiskirts and I LOVE this picture.

And I ordered it practically life-sized in an Organic Bloom frame.

Cute Husband was in Japan when I did all my ordering and Heather is bringing it all over tomorrow so we can pack it up to take with us to Japan.  I’m goofy excited to show him.

Soooo…..if YOU live anywhere in the Connecticut/New York/Massachusetts area ~ Heather travels!!!  I can’t recommend her enough.  Check out her Blog and see more of her fabulous work on her website.

I’m like a groupie, aren’t I?

This entry was posted in Decorating, Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Family Portraits

  1. Laurie says:

    Beautiful! I love them all.. I esp LOVE the first one and the family one it is perfect!!! I am in CT and will be looking her up!

  2. Emily says:

    AWESOME photos!! I’m so jealous…we’ve never had any kind of professional portraits taken and I have a shockingly scarce number of pics with each of my kids :( Guess I need to work on that and quit being jealous! :P

  3. Maple Mae says:

    I love the idea of taking a picture while kids are jumping! Heather does great work!! :)

  4. Susan says:

    You have such a beautiful family!! Great shots…♥

  5. teshapapik says:

    Visiting from Kellys’ Sweet photos Beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

