High School Chemistry Was Never This Delicious

A few months ago Cute Husband and I watched an episode of Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations about the end of the Spanish Molecular Gastronomy restaurant El Bulli.  It pretty much rocked our world and we became fascinated.  You can watch it here:

{please note there is some strong language in the clip, so watch where you view it!}

So I was pretty jazzed to learn upon joining a Women’s Group here that their very first luncheon would be hosted by Chef Jeff Ramsey, a student and former chef at El Bulli with Chef Ferran Adria, before opening Tapas Molecular Bar at the Tokyo Mandarin Oriental.

I can’t stop thinking and talking about this meal.

{my apologies that my only photos are with my phone ~ I thought it might be a wee bit gauche to whip out my giant DSLR, LOL!}

We started with the tapas that are the signature of Chef’s restaurant

Tomato and Mozzarella Cheese

Fresh Yogurt with Young Peach and Oriental Spice {the peach is green!}

Miso Flavored Eel and Pineapple

Marinated Shrimp and Scallops Wrapped in Tomato Jelly with Avocado

I should admit I’ve never before been willing to taste eel.  Just gave me the heeby jeebies.  However this smelled so incredible I HAD to try it; it was phenomenal.

Next up was the entree~

Grilled Pork Loin and Braised Cheek with Grain Mustard Sauce

Saffron and Green Asparagus Risotto Cake

Mashed Potatoes and Green Vegetables

Again, “Cheek” was a little intimidating, but was far and away the tastiest part of the entree.  Tasted like the greatest piece of brisket I ever ate!

But wait, there’s more!  Dessert ~

Strawberry Tart with Pistachio Nut Ice Cream and Red Berries

Note to Cute Husband’s family ~ this Strawberry Tart has now replaced the Parisian Lemon Tart on my list of “desserts I will take you down for.”  Please consider yourself duly warned!  :-)

It was a lovely few hours getting dressed up, eating great food and having wonderful conversation.

At the end of the lunch Chef Ramsey came out and spoke to us about his background {he’s had NO formal training!}, how he made his way to El Bulli, and then shared with us ideas about his cooking.  He truly whet our appetites for the restaurant by telling us about a few tapas in particular that have me dying to go there.  However, check this out ~ he only does two seatings an evening for ~ are you ready for this?  eight people per seating.  That’s it.  Talk about a tough reservation!


This entry was posted in Adventures, Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to High School Chemistry Was Never This Delicious

  1. Loved the clip. I am dying to go to Tickets in Barcelona. So much whimsy!

  2. pam says:

    Ok. Now I’m speechless. The lemon tart has been overthrown. You really are living a different life!

Leave a Reply

