I Just Might Never Leave….

Yeah, yeah.  I know it’s only been a month and we’re totally still in the “honeymoon” phase of life as expats, but wait until you see my day today.

For starters, this was a big day for me.  While I’ve been out and about in Tokyo plenty since arriving, I’ve always managed to have Cute Husband or another Mom from school accompanying me {or if I was alone, I defaulted to a taxi}.  But today, I was out and about all day long, switching from the subway to the local train, running errands and schlepping packages.  I even managed to figure out how to schedule a pedicure appointment.

Enough about me and on to the eye candy.

Good grief I saw cool, cute stuff!

I wanted to be sure that was what I thought it was, but didn’t have my dictionary on me, so I acted an elaborate pantomime and got to the bottom of it.  Yes, in fact dear readers, that IS vinyl by the meter that I believe will work with my Silhouette.  In fact, the second the boxes arrive off the ship, I plan to rip the box open, run back and pick a lovely color and then give it a whirl! {It got better ~ at another store I found an even BIGGER stash that included metallic colors!}

While furoshiki is the preferred Japanese style of wrapping gifts, I also found gorgeous ribbon stashes again.

I was actually on a mission today to find onigiri holders for the girls lunchboxes.  While I didn’t find what I was looking for, I sure did find all sorts of fun bento supplies!
Boxes~

Hashi holders {chopsticks} ~

 Bento picks and liners ~

There were aisles, upon aisles, of pens.  And the Japanese really prefer 0.3 pens, which I love so much.  And they come in almost every color of the rainbow.  I could have spent a small fortune on pens.

And here’s where I think I gasped.  I walked up a level and spied a whole floor dedicated to calendars and agendas.  Even though I’m loyal to my MomAgenda, I still flipped through a bunch for almost a half hour {never mind that they’re in Japanese, too!}

Somewhere between miniature cookie cutters and decorative cake boxes I ran into a new friend who promised to show me even more stores I’d love like these, so stay tune for more goodies.  Meanwhile, when my glue gun and Silhouette arrive I think I’m going to develop Asian Crafting Flu.  Fortunately there is no vaccination available for it yet.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Craft Projects, Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Just Might Never Leave….

  1. Raawwr says:

    Do you know the name of this store? Or if it’s a sort of chain? I’m planning a move to Osaka in the spring and I was wondering where I will find art supplies and crafty items when I get there since I’ll probably get rid of almost everything I own?!

  2. audrey says:

    The colors are just mesmerizing. Were all the pictures taken at the same store or in a mall? I think my husband would end up sending a search and rescue party for me if I went in there…
    So impressed with your venturing out and conquering the variety of transportation!

  3. Laura says:

    Oooh, that just looks like oodles of fun. Hours taking it all in, hours more planning and scheming what to create with it all. So fun to see you pics/experience!

  4. Kelsey says:

    I would NEVER want to leave either! Craft heaven :)

  5. Racheal Isan says:

    So enjoying reading about your adventures. Love the eye candy! (Raimom fr. BC)

  6. Cheryl says:

    What an exciting adventure y’all are on! Loved your take on the toilets and showers. I am impressed that your cuties will try so many different foods.
    Just wondering…did your dog get to go too? :)

  7. pam says:

    And me? I wouldn’t know where to begin. Looks like home for u!

Leave a Reply

