Hello Americans….Here is the Rest of the Story!

Am I the only one out there who grew up listening to Paul Harvey with her Dad?  Do you all think I’m totally ancient now?

Well, with the exception of having to hang a couple of pictures and needing a few items still, we are officially moved in and unpacked.  Everything has a home and a place here in Japan, and I feel less anxious about the little piles.  Are you like that?  Do you need things in their right place to feel at peace before you can move on to the next thing?  It frustrates Cute Husband a little, because he wants to go and explore, and he’s absolutely right that this kind of stuff can wait, but we all know I get easily bent out of shape about silly little stuff.   Oh well, I am who I am.

When you first walk in our front door, there’s a built-in ledge in the foyer.  I had a few other things I brought for here, but they happened to be damaged in transit, so I’ll be on the hunt for some other things.  I’d love to find an interesting bold mirror to hang here since this is a place with picture hangers; maybe something like this?

We are now a shoeless household, as is tradition in Japan.  We have a large basket of our slippers and also ones available for guests to use.  Guests leave their shoes lined up under the ledge.

To the right of the front door, however, is where our shoes “live.”  Japanese apartments all have phenomenal shoe storage, no matter the size.  We have a walk in closet, so we are able to use it to also store some additional items like cleaning supplies, emergency packs, reusable shopping bags and more.

Back in the foyer we also have a bench so people have somewhere to sit to take shoes on and off {I work hard to make sure this doesn’t become the backpack/briefcase/purse dumping ground!}.  Here’s where we put our fabulous Heather Golde family portrait and Organic Bloom frame.  I love, love, love how it turned out ~ we weren’t able to see it all put together until the sea cargo arrived and are so pleased with it.  Makes me smile every time I walk into the apartment!

Walking through the foyer second door, here’s the living room.  All of the furniture except the two bookcases from Cute Husband’s home study are from the leasing company, but we shipped over a few of our accessories to try to personalize the place.  Many of you offered up helpful suggestions during the “great summer curtain hunt” and I really appreciated the help.  These panels from Anthropologie give some much-needed pattern and a pop of color to the room.

 Looking the other direction, you can see I swiped the coveted silver pouf from Little Cutie’s old room as a bit of extra seating.  The Cuties roll that thing around the room like it’s a circus prop and are having a grand time playing with it, so I don’t think it’s been a terrible tragedy that it didn’t fit in her room over here.  I had to supplement our bowl of balls with some additional balls before we left the States since Maisy the Puppy’s parting gift to us was a bizarre need to suddenly start eating the balls like they were gourmet treats!

And facing the bookcases, you can see we’ve crammed personal items, cookbooks, photographs, and lots of board games for family game night into two cases.  One idea we brought with us was to start a memory jar for each year we’re here and keep all the ticket stubs, and little bits of memorabilia from things we do.

And to the right of the living room is the dining room.  It’s the perfect size space for us; our only concern is the light-colored carpet and food.  It’s killing me that I put two sisal rugs in storage, one trimmed in black and one trimmed in lime green.  Um, hello?  How perfectly would those have worked in this room?

And that pile of random junk in the corner?  We call that the Corner of Broken Dreams.  It’s all the stuff broken in the move that we have to hold onto while we deal with the movers.  Not a big deal, but we can’t get rid of it until everything is taken care of.  But it’s a pile.  And that makes me a little twitchy, of course.

So that’s it, I’m done with the apartment tour and will get back to tales of life in Japan, some new craft projects, and probably being out-smarted by a gadget or two.

This entry was posted in Decorating, Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hello Americans….Here is the Rest of the Story!

  1. I love how the frame looks in the foyer! It’s great to see my work hanging on the other side of the world!

  2. gena says:

    That is one ginormous apartment ! I can’t believe how quickly you’ve gotten settled – it looks like a home. I must say, living in an 1850′s Victorian – I’m quite jealous of all your closets!!!!

    thanks for “the rest of the story” (I’m way older than you are, so I definitely listened to Paul Harvey – as an adult even – lol !)

    gena

  3. Deanna says:

    Love the black and white pillows on the couch. May I ask where they are from?

    • feltsocute says:

      The white with black are Ikea, the black with white are TJMaxx, the green knit is Nordstrom (and not wearing well I have to say) and the green velvet monogrammed one was a clearance steal from Ballard Designs.

  4. Bree says:

    It looks fantastic!!

  5. kirstyb76 says:

    Beautiful!! I love how fast you guys have settled in! We moved into our new house in July and I’m STILL trying to figure out where everything will go! :)

  6. Haley Herring says:

    I love reading your blog. Just wanted to say that! Haha, I admire your family and your house and the states and apartment in Japan are both AWESOME!

  7. shelli says:

    you did a fantastic job of decorating your new home. It ooks like home!.

    Love to all

    Shelli and Ira

  8. Hayley says:

    Love the clean lines in this space! Looks spacious!

Leave a Reply

