Trash Talking

I estimate that I spend a good ten percent of my day dealing with garbage in Japan.

Trash is serious business when you live on an island!

I thought I was pretty on top of the waste management situation back in Connecticut and even had a second green rolling bin and two 95 gallon recycling bins.

I was such a trash tyro.

This was one of many flyers on garbage sorting that greeted me upon moving into the apartment (yes, I have a folder dedicated to garbage – wanna make something of it?).  I have since learned that this is the “dumbed down” version and that there are some cities in Japan with manuals on garbage up to fifty pages long!  Yikes.

When you arrive at our apartment, we have a little garbage closet just outside the door.

We put our garbage bags here and a very nice man comes around twice a day to collect and sort {since we are supposed to have already sorted our garbage, I take that to mean he’s checking our work} the trash in a rolling bin.  He wears a fastidious uniform and white gloves and carries a little broom and dustpan in case any debris drops.  Honest.  There’s even a dedicated smoke detector inside the garbage closet and a deodorizer.  It’s all very pristine and it makes me anxious about the cleanliness of my trash.

So in the apartment we have to manage the sorting of the trash.  It took some trial and error to come up with a system, but this seems to be working best for us.  Under our sink we have these two garbage cans {love that this experience was a vocabulary lesson for The Cuties as we introduced “combustible” to their lexicon!}

And inside our little closet next to the washer and dryer we have this big can for recyclables.

You didn’t really think I was going to miss an opportunity to label things with the Silhouette, now did you? ;-)

Afraid you might miss more riveting exposes on how I sort garbage in a new country?  Who knows what exciting topic I’ll post on next!  Be sure to follow Felt So Cute by subscribing on the right-hand side of the blog!  {All the cool kids are doing it.}

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love, Organizing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Trash Talking

  1. audrey says:

    1)I have a folder with all our trash/recycling info in it as well :) 2)Right on! Using those labels! Because we all know that if we don’t, something combustible will end up in the non-combustible without our knowledge and then the guy in the pristine uniform will find it when he sorts the garbage and he will think that you allowed it to happen! **or at least that is what would be going through my mind under such circumstances…**

  2. Rachel says:

    I have to admit this is both hilarious and kind of awesome. I wish I had a little man who sorted and took my garbage twice a day. Japan seems to be even more fastidious about their trash than Switzerland. I lived in Switzerland for a year, and it took me some time to figure out what all of the different colored trash bags meant. Outside my building we had this huuuuuge area with a bunch of different bins.

    Your labels are really cute. :)

  3. Anna says:

    What is the black metal thing above the pumpkins????

  4. Tokyo Jinja says:

    If I ask really really nicely, will you make me some labels with the silhouette????

  5. J&Z's Mom says:

    Too cute! I want to make labels like these for my trash/recycle. Did you get the frames from the Silhouette Store? I am having a difficult time finding these and/or a frame shape I like. Would you mind pointing me in the right direction?

Leave a Reply

