We’ve Got Spirit, Yes We Do!

We might live in Tokyo, but today was a good old-fashioned American Homecoming.

There was a football game, cheerleaders, hamburgers and hot dogs, a cakewalk and all sorts of fun games.

At halftime the Mustang mascot came out to visit~

Best of all, our team won!

The Cuties each worked a shift at the cakewalk with their Girl Scout troops and we were responsible for donating a cake.  We searched high and low for different ideas as to what we should make and finally settled on this idea.

This was really my first significant baking experience with our oven in Japan and it was a wild adventure.  The left side was twice as hot as the right side, and mid-way through baking the temperature dropped 50 degrees!  I know I’m lucky to even have an oven in Japan, however, but clearly, we need to experiment with baking a little more in order to make this less stressful.  We tweaked the design a bit, but were happy with the result.

I drifted off to sleep last night worried about waking up to a pile of roses at the bottom of the cake box, but was most excited to find everything as it should be this morning!

PHEW!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to We’ve Got Spirit, Yes We Do!

  1. Amma says:

    I am so impressed with your baking talent. The cake is beautiful. You are a multi-talented lady!!!! I bet the cake was as delicious as beautiful!!

  2. audrey says:

    How fun! It’s so refreshing to have a familiar culture moment when imbedded in new and different culture all the rest of the time.
    Hope the cake was a hit!

  3. glamcookie says:

    That cake is so pretty! I like yours even better than the one you linked to. Any pics of the inside?

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Good afternoon from L.A.!

    What a simply gorgeous cake! You did an outstanding job. Color me impressed!

    This time last year we were at ASIJ’s homecoming as well! Please tell me you grabbed some Krispy Kreme’s on the way out. It was such a delight to see them as a treat at the school. I have to ask which classes your girls are in. Madeline was in Mr. Steven’s 5th grade class and loved every minute of it!

    Enjoy yourself this weekend and take care!

    Warmly,

    Elizabeth

  5. I found my way over here via Kelly on the international SUYL link; but what I really wanted to comment on was that cake! I’m not sure what it tastes like, given the problems you described with your oven… but oh my!! It does look beautiful! I wish I could decorate like that!

Leave a Reply

