Scrap Accent Pillow

I’ve been looking for another little pillow for our bed without luck and finally decided to make one out of some felt scraps in the interim.

Let me show you my first idea, which was to take a common sumi-e theme of bamboo and translate it into a felt applique.

Yeah, no need to be polite.  It was underwhelming to say the least.

So plan B was to take one of the motifs from the bedding itself and simply copy that.  Muuuuch better.

I chose to freehand my cutting, but for those of you wanting to do this project who aren’t comfortable with that, you could photocopy your pillowcase or sheet and then cut it up into a pattern.

I started with my basic koi fish shape~

Then added in the details and used fabric-tac to glue down all my pieces {I didn’t use my usual glue gun as I wanted everything to remain really soft and flexible}.

Then a quick top stitch on three sides, stuffed it, and stitched it closed.  Just a little something extra for contrast.  You can see my inspiration koi guy at the top of this photo

This was definitely a better way to spend an hour than laundry.  Although pretty much anything is a better way to spend an hour than doing laundry in my book. ;-)

P.S.  Cute Husband, please note this was made 100% with craft scraps and cost absolutely nothing out of pocket.  This has been a public service message of Over-Spending Crafters Anonymous.

Linked to:
Organize & Decorate Everything, The Thrifty Home, Sew Much Ado, My Backyard Eden, Blue Cricket Design, Creative Jewish Mom, Night Owl Crafting, Creating a House of Grace, Hope Studios, Coastal Charm, Running with Glitter, Bella Before and After, Not Just a Housewife, Today’s Creative Blog, Creative Itch, Beyond the Picket Fence, The Shabby Creek Cottage, Somewhat Simple, House of Hepworths, Tatertots and Jello, Funky Junk Interiors, Along for the Ride, Be Different, Act Normal, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Finding Fabulous, Chic on a Shoestring Decorating, My Romantic Home, The Shabby Nest, Lovely Crafty Home, Family Ever After Blog, Not So Simple Housewife, Momnivore’s Dilemma, C.R.A.F.T.
This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Decorating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Scrap Accent Pillow

  1. msumissa says:

    bwahaha… I am also a member of the OSCA… VERY nice pillow, love it!

  2. Alexa says:

    Wow! I love it so much!

  3. love it, so nice to see felt used with more neutral colors, wouldn’t thought of that ! thanks so much for sharing on Craft Schooling Sunday!

  4. pam says:

    You kill! Live it!

  5. Carrie says:

    Wow, you are just the craftiest person ever! Looks great!

  6. Such a beautiful pillow! I actually liked the bamboo one too. Thanks for your sweet comment on my daughter’s red and white room! I appreciate you stopping by my blog. –Michelle

  7. Carmen says:

    Beautiful pillows…Love. Love. Love. Looks like it came with your bed set. Great Job! Would love it if you would link this up to our Rockin’ link party going on now at RoCa and Company. Here is the link: http://rocaandcompany.blogspot.com/2011/11/you-rock-8.html. Come and show off what you got. Hope to see you there…

    Remember…YOU ROCK!!

    Carmen @ RoCa and Company
    http://www.rocaandcompany.blogspot.com

  8. I found you on Funky Junk today… and I absolutely love this pillow! Could you share where you got the bedding? I adore it!

  9. I’m the president of the Overspending Crafters Anonymous. LOL…

    Thanks for sharing at Creative Juice!

  10. Cassia says:

    THAT is suuper cool! :D

  11. so now’s there’s a group that can offer support O.C.A. I need to join, I don’t know how long my husband will fund my projects!! I hve to say that this is great way to make coordinating accesories for any room in the home…thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

