On an Organizing Mission

We have lived in Tokyo just shy of three months now.

And somehow my pantry has become an organizational mess already.

I’m gonna just go ahead and point my finger at Cute Husband and The Cuties.  Yeah, I did it.  Don’t hate me for it.  But as much as Cute Husband teases me about my over-organizing and excessive labeling (that would be OOEL for those of you in the know), whenever we have a crowded space in our home that hasn’t been OOEL’d, it suffers.

So today, I was a woman on a Mission Impossible.

I came armed with the appropriate tools for the job.

Then I assessed the mission fully.

{by the way, what was up with the two rogue pink cocktail napkins???}

The first step to any organizational project is always grouping like items together.  Once that was done, I could begin the labeling process.  For my family, once there’s a clear identifier as to where something goes, they are terrific at putting things back where they belong.  Let’s see how they’ll do now…

I’ll report back on how the team progresses with their training.  If they fail to meet my standards as team leader I shall have to resort to tickle torture.

This message will self destruct in 3…2…1…

Linked to:

Organize & Decorate Everything, A Bowl Full of Lemons

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to On an Organizing Mission

  1. The Hook says:

    This post almost took me out!

  2. DramaDoc says:

    I love seeing other people’s transformations! You should read “The Happiness Project.” In one part, the author Gretchen Rubin decides to organize her home, starting with her closet, and she gets such a rush, she starts doing it for her friends, to feed the addiction. Good luck with the upkeep. Great blog!

  3. Mommy Bunny says:

    I love how creative you label things! They’re so cute I bet your family would love to put things back in their proper place :)

  4. Yor Ryeter says:

    Very shabby and loved your label’s font!!! :) Got a bit of OCD myself and I’m the mastermind of labeling here in our home. :D

  5. Angie says:

    Love reading your blog, but I find myself coming out of blurkdom to ask, what in the world is Nori?!?!

  6. LOL. You are way better than me, I would have opened it, looked, and found something ‘better’ to do! LOL. I hate when stuff gets like this!

    http://craftyzoowithmonkeys.blogspot.com

  7. Chloe says:

    Hi, I’ve just popped over from your link at A Bowl Full Of Lemons. I’m new to the whole labeling thing, but now I’ve started to try it out so that hubby and son can find stuff and put it back. I thought labels were a waste of time as I knew where everything was but it’s so much better now and I don’t get asked “Where’s such and such?” constantly!

  8. shelli says:

    Now that you did such a god job, please come and do our cupboard.. It is in dire need of a major overhaul.

    Shelli

Leave a Reply

