A Super Shopping Day

While Cute Husband might disagree, I’m not usually one to spend an entire day shopping.

But I did today! :-)

I stumbled upon this blog that talks about all sorts of great craft stores all over Tokyo.  Since all of the ones I had been to so far were a big hit, I decided I was up for a visit to Kamata, where she recommended Yuzawaya.  Eight buildings of craft supplies a mere half an hour train ride away?  Sign me up!

The first building was three floors of fabrics.  Absolutely divine fabrics.

This was only a small section of the Liberty of London fabrics.  I wanted to roll around on them they were so pretty!

Cute Husband has always joked that he wanted me to make him a suit {this is a bad idea for sooo many reasons}, so I took this picture just for him.

There were also aisles upon aisles of beautiful fabrics: printed vinyls; every color of the rainbow tulle and chiffon; and so much more.  Additionally, there were beautiful buttons, ribbons, trims and threads.  It made me want to actually learn to sew something from a pattern and go back with a purpose instead of just roaming around in a crafting out-of-body experience.

Another store was like Michael’s on steroids.  It literally was every single kind of craft I’ve ever seen on six levels.  Squeal!  Where to start?

Felting wool~

Washi papers ~

And then the next building had an entire floor of art supplies that were really beautiful.

I love the idea of buying all my colored pencils this way instead of in sets ~

Or maybe pick out a new paint brush.  It was like dying and going to Windsor Newton heaven!

Even though I haven’t progressed beyond black ink in my sumi-e classes, I wanted to buy some of these colored dry pigments just because they looked so gorgeous in their bottles.

On my way home, I stopped in one of the department stores and wandered around for a bit.  I fell in love with this little birdie, but alas he did not make his way home to my nest.  At $50, this Jewish girl living in Japan could not justify a Christmas ornament to stick on a shelf, no matter how feathery and fabulous it might be, LOL!

I also picked this up about three separate times, desperately trying to justify exactly why I needed to purchase this.  But again, it was about $50, and as cool as it was, I reminded myself that I have both a ball of twine and many pairs of scissors back at the apartment.

So what I learned in summary today was that I am capable of complete and total rational thought when it comes to expensive yet frivolous items for my home…..

But can completely justify each and every one of my craft supply purchases without hesitation!

Projects and how to’s to come, I promise!  :-)

This entry was posted in Adventures, Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Super Shopping Day

  1. msumissa says:

    Between Pinterest and that craft store, I would be broke… what a joy!

  2. shelli says:

    Sound slike you had a fantastic day. i can’t wait to see what great things you now will create.

    Love
    Shelli

  3. Tokyo Jinja says:

    I still can’t believe you went without me….but I think after today, we might have to make our own quilt!

  4. Laura says:

    Having a day to shop like that would be amazing, let alone the time to craft with all the wonderful goodies. Can’t wait to see your creations!
    Laura
    Synergistic Acres – Kansas City Natural Farm

  5. Hi, just wanted to pop in and tell you I’m passing the “Versatile Blog Award” to you, my blogging friend! Love your story!
    http://frugalfancypants.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/the-christmas-break-that-almost-killed-my-blog/

Leave a Reply

