A Special Day

Both my girls are having special days.

And they are far away from me and while I’m a little choked up about it, I see what a great thing this is.  I’m far from ready for them to leave the nest, but it’s nice to see glimpses of what “growing up” means in all of our lives.

Today Little Cutie turns 8.  That hits me like a ton of bricks.  My baby is 8 years old.  I can’t imagine where the time has gone.  But she has always been racing full speed ahead.  The day she pulled up and took a tentative step that was it and she was off and running.  She had a big sister to keep up with, after all!  And so when we realized her birthday would fall while she was away at ski camp it really shouldn’t have surprised me that she was completely unfazed by it and ready to go!

Thankfully, camp sends pictures daily, so I can at least see her, even if she can’t see me!

One of the things that really bummed me out was this was the first birthday where we couldn’t have all of our regular family traditions.  Not to be completely deterred, I enlisted the help of Big Cutie as my co-conspirator and snuck a little gift into her backpack to give her sister before bed last night ~

I knew she still needed to tell the world it was her special day even under all that gear!

In general she seems to be having a grand time {and remembering to brush her hair!}Day 1 of ski lessons ~ just like with walking, I see she went right for speed!

And just in case Mama wasn’t having an emotional enough day, there were plenty of pictures like this.  Yup.  That’s my 10-year-old daughter with Cerebral Palsy, fully up and moving on skis, all by herself!!! {please note the self-control I just demonstrated with only three exclamation points}.  Remember, she can’t wear her leg brace in a downhill ski boot so she’s totally hanging tough!  Good grief, she rocks!

Are these happy campers, or what?

The only downside to all this is I’m pretty sure The Cuties and Cute Husband are going to start hounding me for a ski vacation sometime in the very near future.  One, I’m what they call “not so athletic” and two, I hate being cold.  I wonder if they’ll even notice after a couple of runs if I just sneak off to the lodge with my Kindle and a warm drink in front of the fire…..

This entry was posted in Adventures, Celebrations, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Special Day

  1. Cherish every moment of those little cuties, I had four cuties and now I’m only down to one at home. The time flies by too quickly :)

  2. pam says:

    That’s so great. Got a little choked up seeing pics of BC on skis. Amazing. Happy bday LC

  3. msumissa says:

    Aww, so sweet! It really does fly by – and how awesome does it look, all that snow! Sigh, in Michigan we have not had any yet! (few flurries here and there, but still!) And BC is ROCKIN’ it on those skies. Good for her! How special that they get this time together.

  4. Emily says:

    Your girls are amazing! Always wished I had a sister!

  5. Karsty Gregoire says:

    A – I am SO enjoying your blog and adventures. Absolutely makes me want to pick up & do the same for a few years :) Thanks for sharing all of this. (And, your new art is really gorgeous.)

Leave a Reply

