Good Fortune for Girlies

The Cuties love to open fortune cookies after Chinese food, but often the existential and sometimes obscure nature of the fortunes leave them a wee bit disappointed.

So when I saw this DIY fortune cookie project from Martha {don’t you love how she’s a one-name icon like Cher or Madonna?} I thought I could make fortunes that would work a bit better for the elementary school set.

The Cuties and I are having a Valentine cookie decorating party this coming weekend and I thought this project would be especially fun to set out for all the little girlies and their Mommies to take with them before they leave.

{stayed tuned all week for more party projects!}

The directions called for a very specific 4.5″ circle, and being the good rule follower that I am, I did as instructed {in retrospect, these are a tad too big for my taste, and 3.5″-3.75″ might be best in my humble opinion}.  I used a rotary cutter from Michael’s that made it very easy to cut a template out of card stock to ensure all of my circles were the same.

I then cut a nice big stack of red and pink felt circles.  Fortunately, due to my membership in OCA I had plenty of both colors left over from last year’s Big Mama Valentine Wreath {which is outside the door here in Tokyo ~ who knew when I made her she’d be International!}

Next I decided instead of true fortunes I would slip Audrey Hepburn quotations inside the Valentine fortune cookies.  I am a huge Audrey Hepburn fan.  She had a lot of truly lovely things to say about life that I think speak kindly to young girls, so I chose several to print out.  If you haven’t watched many of her movies, I highly recommend wasting away a weekend curled up on the couch.  Roman Holiday has always been my favorite and I’m nudging Cute Husband a bit for a Vespa in lieu of a car here in Tokyo.  And it should be pink.  Audrey always said, “I believe in pink,” so I always picture her Vespa in Roman Holiday to have been pink even though the movie was in black and white.  It must have been, don’t you think?  If some great lover of trivia out there knows otherwise, please don’t tell me and spoil it for me, OK?

Next I cut a bit of small gauge wire slightly shorter than 4.5″ and laid it across the middle of a felt circle with one of the “fortunes.”

I put a semi-circle of hot glue across just the bottom half and folded the top down to the bottom to form a semi-circle.

Then you simply fold in half to form the fortune cookie shape.  The wire will hold the felt into place.  When the girls pick them, they will be able to pull the paper slip out the sides, as the glue doesn’t go all the way around {or they can also rip the whole thing open like the real deal, if they wish!}.

Normally, I end my posts with something semi-snarky, but I think I’ll leave you with my favorite Audrey quotation instead.  I love that she wasn’t content to simply sit still after her career in film and on stage, and instead dedicated her life as a UNICEF ambassador.

“For attractive lips, speak words of kindness. For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people. For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry. For beautiful hair, let a child run her hands through it once a day. For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone. People, more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed, never throw out anyone. Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms. As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands; one for helping yourself, and the other for helping others. be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”
~Audrey Hepburn

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Good Fortune for Girlies

  1. ali says:

    Love this project! And Audrey Hepburn did have some great things to say huh? Love the quote you closed with… that one quote itself is full of so many great quotes!

  2. Suzy says:

    As another HUGE Audrey fan, I love love love that use filled your “cookies” with her quotes! And I’m totally stealing that last one!

  3. msumissa says:

    Not sure if you are so inclined, but you can actually make the fortune cookies them selves as well. I did it for my hubby one year (then fiance) because I was broke and really, the fortunes were much more fun! ;o)

  4. Heather says:

    What circle cutter are you using in this picture?

  5. Tokyo Jinja says:

    She really was an amazing lady….

  6. Eden Elieff says:

    My favorite AH movie: “Love in the Afternoon” with Gary Cooper. The Ritz! Maurice Chevalier!

  7. shelli says:

    Wow! What a fantastic project.!

Leave a Reply

