Personalized Aprons with Bling!

Yesterday I featured the Valentine’s Cookie Decorating Party The Cuties and I hosted last weekend.  Our party favors to our guests were personalized aprons for everyone to wear while they were knee-deep in frosting.  Back in the States, I would have had several options for customizing the aprons that I didn’t have here: a local monogramming shop or my household embroidery machine.  However, I can’t even begin to figure out where to find a monogramming shop in Tokyo and the embroidery machine is deep in the bowels of storage in America so I had to get a little creative!

I started with a cute font {I used Smiley Monster, which is a free font you can download}, and printed my names and taped them up on our balcony window.

{we’re going to all ignore the fact that my slider needs a good cleaning, OK?!}

Next, I used painter’s tape and centered my apron over the name.  This project works best on a bright, sunny day {or if you have a light box, of course!}.

I then took a disappearing ink marker and carefully traced over the letters.  {Mine has disappearing ink on one side and is mark-be-gone on the other side}

I then painted in the lines with a fabric-safe paint pen.  You could also use a fine brush and fabric paint, however I do not recommend something like a Sharpie or even children’s fabric markers as they will bleed too much for a finely detailed project like this.

As a final step, I used Fabri-Tac, which is a washable fabric glue, to adhere rhinestones as the dots to all the ‘i’s for a little bling.  In the past when I’ve done this project at Valentine’s Day, I’ve also painted hearts as dots, which is also fun!

For the first time in using disappearing ink, at the 48-hour mark, my ink had not disappeared!  As I was about to panic, I found the manufacturer’s website, and they suggested simply taking a damp washcloth to the dry paint and gently scrubbing away the  ink.   It worked like a charm, thank goodness!  As a final step, I rolled up the aprons, tied them each with a bow, and stood them up inside a basket for guests to take upon their arrival.

This project came just in the nick of time, as we recently realized that the aprons I brought to Japan from a previous Cookie Decorating Party were so small they barely fit over The Cuties’ heads!  Clearly it was time for bigger aprons, or else we needed to shrink some heads around here!

Linked to:

 Tip Junkie

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Personalized Aprons with Bling!

  1. Sasha says:

    Those turned out so so cute! Looked like such a fun party as well!

  2. They turned out so cute. I love that this is your party favor!

    Melissa
    http://www.lovebugliving.com

  3. Natalie says:

    So sweet! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Jennifer says:

    These are adorable. My girls will be super excited for one!!
    ~Jen @ hutchinsonherd.blogspot.om

  5. shelli says:

    Another great idea!

    Do you sell them?

    Shelli

    • feltsocute says:

      I would have been happy to from my US Etsy shop, but I’ve closed that as I have to do a customs form on each package I send from Japan and shipping is rather cost-prohibitive with the high Yen and my Japanese is still a bit weak to manage the post office transactions on a regular basis, LOL!

  6. Katie says:

    These are so cute! I will be pinning this to do for my daughter’s sleep over coming up soon! Thank you!!

  7. Those are so cute, love them! That was perfect how you used the glass door as a light box. I found you via the Tip Junkie’s Tip Me Tuesday Link Party.

  8. Jenny T says:

    I love this idea!!!

  9. Cindy Conner says:

    So adorable! Hugs and blessings, Cindy

  10. Rita says:

    Love the aprons–Great job!

  11. Super cute aprons. And good tip about the fabric marker. I would love to be on your link party list. My party – The Inspiration Board is up right now. Hope to see you there.

    http://carolynshomework.blogspot.com/2012/02/inspiration-board-link-party-36.html

  12. Karsty Gregoire says:

    you are SO smart – I wouldn’t have known where to start that! I should enlist your help with an upcoming team windup party that we are planning to host (15 or so 10 yr old boys and their families)!!!!

  13. J&Z's mom says:

    This is adorable. I am looking to do a cooking party for my son’s birthday and would love to do these. Where did you source your aprons?

    • feltsocute says:

      I have used aprons as favors quite a bit and my favorite source is http://www.allheartchefs.com/
      (I happened to use another vendor for this particular party because I was dealing with the best overseas shipping options, but I highly recommend All Heart – especially if you want children’s sizes and/or colors).

Leave a Reply

