Fancying Up a Hat {Yet Again}

I think I’m a wannabe milliner.  I so love hats.  Big hats, fancy hats, warm hats, straw hats, cloches, even baseball hats {with a monogram, of course}!

Yet another thing I love about living in Japan is the abundance of stores that sell hats.  I try them on constantly, but thanks to my H.O.U.S. {Head of Unusual Size} I can’t buy quite as many as I would like.  So when I do find them I tend to buy classic colors and shapes and then make embellishments that are removable.

Recently I found some great wool felt craft supplies that I thought would be perfect for making a flower pin for my gray wool hat.

For those of you in Japan, I found these at Tokyu Hands, and they are from a company called Felt House {unfortunately they do not ship outside of Asia at this time}.

I started by taking some embroidery floss and sewing my layers of pink flowers together and then added the felt-covered button at the end {if you can’t find a pre-covered button, you can easily make one yourself with a button-covering kit sold at places like JoAnn’s}.  I then added my leaves with a hot glue gun and a pin to the back.

And that was it.  I’m pretty sure I started this project at about 3:15 pm and left to meet the school bus at 3:30 pm.  It was that fast and easy.  And that included the awkward attempts at photographing myself in the mirror.

Where’s my camera crew when I need them?

This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fancying Up a Hat {Yet Again}

  1. Tokyo Jinja says:

    For the rest of your readers, it was even cuter in person!!!

  2. Stacey Pharris says:

    I adore this! So cute and simple!

  3. julie says:

    Oh, this is so pretty!!!

  4. shelli says:

    Very cute!

  5. I love hats too, sometimes I think I am supposed to be living in London so I could rock the hats and facinators:)
    ~Jen @ hutchinsonherd.blogspot.com

  6. Abbie says:

    This reminds me that you have to come see a great stock of embellishments I bought in Hong Kong. Love it!

  7. Dana says:

    Super cute!!!

  8. Christie says:

    I so want that hat!

Leave a Reply

