Monogrammed Wellies to Chase the Clouds Away!

 It was raining today and I was wearing my wellies, and looked down and thought I really should have purchased them in a brighter color for a little more oomph.

And then it occurred to me I could give them a little more oomph in the blink of an eye thanks to my Silhouette!

So I quickly set up a three-initial monogram in the Silhouette Studio using the Baskerville Old Face font.  I both enlarged and vertically stretched the entire thing, and then ungrouped the design so that I could make my center letter larger.  Remember when designing with your Silhouette for a specific size that you can measure your space and then utilize the sizing frame to perfectly resize your creation for the project.

Next, I measured the positioning on my wellies where I wanted the top center of my monogram to be and marked a small dot with a pencil.

Once I peeled back my vinyl and moved it to the transfer paper I cut a small notch at the very top of the larger, center initial so that I would easily be able to see where that pencil dot was when placing my design onto the boot itself.  I made sure I actually covered the dot with the vinyl, but I can’t imagine anyone would ever be that close to the side of my rain boots!  When transferring vinyl I know many people use the side of a credit card, but I find a bone folder for card-making to be the very best tool!

Then I just peeled away the transfer paper and in about ten minutes total had custom monogrammed wellies!

Two notes for this project:

I used premium vinyl meant for indoor and outdoor use, which I would recommend since the boots will be exposed to the elements.  Also to pick away the excess vinyl from the details within the monogram I used the Hook to help without disturbing the integrity of the fine lines.  This would be especially helpful if you opted for a script monogram.

What will you do to make puddle splashing more fun?

Want to follow Felt So Cute?  

Be sure to subscribe on the right-hand side of your screen!

Linked to:
Somewhat Simple, Beyond the Picket Fence, House of Hepworths, Fireflies and Jellybeans, Creative Jewish Mom, C.R.A.F.T.

 

This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monogrammed Wellies to Chase the Clouds Away!

  1. Kelly Smith says:

    They are cute! Great thinking!

  2. Would love to do that to mine!

  3. eternalros3 says:

    Those boots are so cute! I’m always trying to keep an eye out for an affordable pair of everyday and/or winter boots like those, but around my area I never have success.

  4. saynotsweetanne says:

    Ha ha! These boots make me smile! Now there’s a way to make your boots stand out as your own! What a great Idea- good thinking :D I would love for you to link up to my debut of Sweet Sharing Mondays (new weekly party)! http://saynotsweetanne.com/2012/sweet-sharing-monday/

  5. Great project, now how about adding some colorful raindrops?Great to see you on Craft Schooling Sunday and hope you’re enjoying your Japanese adventure!

  6. Pingback: 12 Favorite DIYs for Monogrammed Gifts - Maker Crate

  7. Pingback: 25 Monogrammed DIY Projects - Dukes & Duchesses

Leave a Reply

