The Washi Ball Bowl Project

Shopping craft stores in Japan has enabled me to combine my lifelong love of beautiful papers and newfound love of Japanese designs.  I find myself standing in washi paper stores for hours at a time, staring at beautiful papers, dreaming up projects I could someday do. It’s actually been a good thing that my favorite color green, is one of the harder colors to find, as this has curbed my purchasing abilities!

But slowly, over the last few months, I’ve been collecting sheets of washi paper until I reached a critical mass to begin the project I had in mind.

I first cut 1/2″ – 3/4″ strips of the washi papers and got out the rest of my materials.  I used Mod Podge, a foam rubber brush, a finger painting tray and polystyrene balls.  {You don’t want to use Styrofoam balls for this project as they will crumble as you attempt to Mod Podge the papers}.

You should decide what style you want to use for putting your papers on – a haphazard technique or something more uniform.  I put my paper on any old way as it was simply easier, but I think putting the papers on lined up side by side would look quite lovely – almost like temari balls.

{Do you spy the very last of my coveted Diet Cokes that were shipped over in a package we ordered along with some others treats from America?;-)}

Once you finish a ball, I recommend barely sticking two tall thumb tacks into it so that it won’t stick to whatever surface you are drying it on.  Also, while wet, it will look very cloudy and filmy, but I promise the Mod Podge will dry clear.

Here are some of my favorite papers and how they turned out:

This one looks a bit like American tie-dye, but is a Japanese shibori design.

This reminds me of an Ikat print, and has tiny little gold dots all over.

Having just been through our first Sakura {Cherry Blossom} season, I particularly like all the pretty Sakura on this paper.

This is The Cuties’ favorite paper with purple pavilions all over it, reminding them of our trip to Kyoto to Kinkaku-ji!

And here’s what I did with all the balls~

Now who in my family do you think will be the one to drive me crazy rearranging the balls the most?

Wanna place your bets now?

This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Washi Ball Bowl Project

  1. Gail says:

    Can you tell us what Washi paper is? Is it like tissue paper or more like wrapping paper? Is it only used for crafts? I haven’t seen it here in the US. Or maybe I have seen it but didn’t know what it was! These are very pretty!

    • feltsocute says:

      There are a lot of different kinds of washi – it’s a Japanese type of paper. Some of it is thin like tissue paper, and some is thicker to cover books, and some is in between. Most of the ones I used are similar in weight to wrapping paper from the US. Here’s a website where you can order some if you don’t find any near you: http://www.papermojo.com/

  2. Kate Lopshire (aka Loppy) says:

    I love this idea! Do you think this have the same look (or work) with just regular scrapbook paper? Im redoing my bedroom and having trouble with finding decor that I like!

  3. Cute Grandma says:

    You continue to amaze me!!! MIL

  4. Aunt Heather says:

    We really must be sisters….I liiterally just went shopping yesterday for the glue, balls, etc….I’ve collected the papers in reds and purple for my family room and was planning on doing the same project over the weekend (with some little friends helping out on thier own designs). What a riot!

  5. Jill Butler says:

    Very cool…. I am so going to do this for fall. I wanted some more things in orange but didn’t want to spend tons of money. THANKS!!!

Leave a Reply

