Great Lengths

Little Cutie has been working on a “project” all year that finally came to fruition yesterday and its all because of the influence of two amazing teachers in her life.

This year, she met her wonderful 2nd grade teacher Ms. B.  In explaining an “All About Me” assignment to the class, Ms. B shared her own sample, which included personal photographs.  Little Cutie immediately noticed there were pictures where Ms. B had very long hair and also pictures where she had much shorter hair.  Ever-curious, she asked about it, and her teacher explained she had grown out her hair to donate to people who needed wigs while they were sick.

Little Cutie exploded off the school bus that afternoon and flung herself at me, talking a mile a minute.  A light bulb moment had clearly happened!

**************

Back in Kindergarten, Little Cutie had Ms. L as her teacher.  That year, Ms L was our school district’s Teacher of the Year, and later became the state Teacher of the Year, and eventually went to the White House to meet the President.  It was all incredibly exciting and there was quite the media blitz at school and in their classroom throughout the year as the press followed Ms. L on this journey.  As part of her “story” on the nightly news, and in the newspapers, it was often mentioned that Ms. L had recently survived breast cancer while teaching, and there were some anecdotes about losing her hair and the kinds of innocent things Kindergarteners are apt to say.

So……Little Cutie put two and two together, and figured out that people like Ms. B donated their hair to people like Ms. L and since she thought the sun rose and set with both of them, she was going to grow her hair out to donate!

Together we researched all the different organizations and decided on Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths program.  Which meant Little Cutie would need a minimum of eight inches below a ponytail to donate.

As a Mom, I will admit this was a challenge at times.  Little Cutie’s hair isn’t really suited to being this long and there were some breakage issues.  She lost the ability to really wash it herself because it was so long, so we regressed to where I had to start helping her in the shower again.  Brushing it herself was even hard sometimes.  But she is a stubborn girl, and was determined to see this to the end.

And she did.

And so we washed and dried and straightened her hair of all its curl for maximum length! {Please note it was also National Wear Your Lilly Day, so we combined two events!}

 Then the sweet Amanda at Acure Eco Salon set to work dividing Little Cutie’s hair into multiple ponytails so she could donate the most hair possible.

And then she cut!

I was a little worried Little Cutie might panic at this point, but she had a HUGE grin on her face the entire time, even as the pile of ponies was growing!

One of the best parts was Little Cutie’s “Special Salon Guest.”  Ms. L zipped over from the last day of school and sat with us while it happened and posed for pictures.  She’s also growing her hair out to donate, so they’ve been communicating about their “hair journey.”

{and because I think it bears shouting from the rooftops, Ms. L celebrated 5 years cancer-free this year and also became Mrs. L!!!}

At this point it was 4:50 pm, so we zipped over to the Post Office as fast as we could to send off our special package.  I asked Little Cutie if she wanted to write a note to include, and here’s what she came up with, all on her own ~

My girls have often begged to buy the “fancy” mailing envelopes at the Post Office and Mean Mommy always says they’re not necessary, but THIS merited a special package!

And even though I caught Little Cutie admiring her new ‘do in every single reflection she passed, she’s already asking to grow it out again.

Just so she can cut it all off.

This entry was posted in Adventures, Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Great Lengths

  1. msumissa says:

    Go Little Cutie! My oldest, Grace did that this year as well, she did it as part of lent. We also choose Pantene as well!

  2. Gretchen says:

    Great job, Little Cutie! And a great new cut! It takes a lot of determination to reach a goal that is two years on the making, and you did it!

    I donated 22 inches of hair right after we got married. I’ve often found myself wondering who got my hair and hoping they don’t need it anymore because they’ve conquered the big C.

  3. Kelly Badra says:

    She is seriously adorable. What a big heart!

  4. Aunt Heather says:

    So proud of that little lady! Can’t wait to hug her in person in just a few weeks!

  5. Tokyo Jinja says:

    This needs a serious OMG! I knew the story and admired her dedication, but now I have to comment on how utterly adorable the new “do” is!! Love it!

  6. Oh my goodness. That is incredible! What an amazing little girl! I love reading about your family, you seem to be raising some awesome little ladies!

  7. So very proud of you little cuite!!

  8. Kathy says:

    She is so adorable, it made me tear up! I love her short hairdo and I love that she’s ready to work on her next donation!

  9. Sasha says:

    Wow! What a fabulous little girl she is! Such a great project I’m sure she’ll always remember.

  10. Michelle says:

    That is so fantastic. What an amazing little cutie!

  11. Stacey Pharris says:

    Aww, that’s so awesome! I hope, one day that my kids have as big of a heart as hers. What a sweetie!

  12. Lisa says:

    What a thoughtful, kind, and amazing little girl you have! Awesome job, little cutie! And way to go Mrs. L – congrats on 5 healthy years!

  13. Emily says:

    Amazing story! I’m working on instilling a spirit of charity and compassion in my 5yo daughter and would be thrilled if she could “put two and two together” to make a difference at Little Cutie’s age. LC’s new hair is the bomb, too!! Bet it is much cooler for summer :)

  14. Michelle says:

    She looks adorable. C is donating hers to Pantene tomorrow! Check out my facebook page for all of her cuteness!!

  15. Dr. D says:

    Mrs.L shared this with me. “Little Cutie” and her sister “Big Cutie?” are remarkably special individuals. They are clearly the most brilliant of representatives of children who live the “Code.” I know you and they know what I mean. I myself am quite selfish and cannot wait to have Little Cutie back in our school and your family back in our little community! ;-)

  16. Kate says:

    Lovely, well-written story about a beautiful little lady, inside and out!

  17. Elizabeth Corker says:

    Absolutely beautiful Little Cutie, inside and out. And Momma too, for raising such a wise and kind little girl.
    Love the new ‘do!

  18. KlaLeann says:

    This is a wonderful story. Congrats to you for raising such a wonderful young lady!

  19. ericapage says:

    I found your blog from the Lilly facebook page. This is such a beautiful story! It brought tears to my eyes. I have a 4 month old baby girl, and I want nothing more than to raise her to be a loving, brave little girl, who grows into a strong, true woman. You are well on your way!

  20. Gail Aiken says:

    Also being a Lilly fan, I saw the picture of Little Cutie on their Facebook Fan Page on National Wear Your Lilly Day. I clicked on the link to your blog and read your post on June 21 about her wonderful project of growing out her hair to help someone else. As I read your post, I kept thinking I felt like I may know you and Little Cutie. Then I read more information about you, and realized that you (and Little Cutie) are also my customers (personalized bath wrap & personalized Tervis Tumblers)!!! I think what Little Cutie did was amazing, and I know you must be so proud of her. I think it is such an adventure for you and your family to be living in Japan – and remember that I offered to be your personal shopper any time you need a personalized gift!!!
    Gail Aiken
    http://www.gailspersonalizedgifts.com

  21. Carole says:

    Your daughter is a cutie for all of the rights reasons–brava to her!

  22. Aunt Pam says:

    Don’t know how I missed this post, but I started to tear up reading it. I’ve always loved you, Little Cutie, and this tells me that you are even more special than I could have imagined, you r my rock star!

  23. Anna says:

    This is so beautiful!

  24. Christy Horwitz says:

    So proud of “Little Cutie”. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

