Our Little Drugstore

So for those of you who read this blog who aren’t Expats, here’s a little confession.

We’re sort of drugstore hoarders.

Most of us have some sort of “secret closet” where we stash away toiletries and medications from America that we can’t purchase here in Japan.  We first brought a ton over in our shipment container and then continue to do a big drugstore run before returning from home visits.  It’s a little frenetic and twisted, I admit.   Especially because we certainly don’t live in a Third World country.

But you know how you tend to have some brand loyalty about certain things?  Well imagine that issue, compounded by the fact that you likely can’t read what you’re buying in a local drugstore because it’s written in another language.  On top of that, the Japanese have a preference for heavy scenting in their toiletries, so we’ve had some fairly comical experiences ~ like the time I was wandering around after my husband showered wondering what I was smelling and he finally told me that the bottle in the shower that looked exactly like the unscented Dove body wash we buy in America, was not the same, and that’s what I was smelling and to please stop sniffing him!

So that’s the back story on how we ended up with this:

Which was rather difficult to find anything in since we’d pretty much tossed everything inside, and quickly shut the door upon returning from our summer vacation.

So today I ran to the hyaku yen store {our version of the Dollar Store} and grabbed a few containers and set to work to corral everything into some sense of order.

About an hour later we were in muuuuuch better shape.

I organized things by purpose instead of simply stacking them by size so that someone could find what they needed a little bit more easily.

The small tags are cardboard key tags you can find very inexpensively at an office supply store or Target in a multi-pack for a few dollars.

I also made His & Hers bins for our prescriptions medications.  Previously I had both of ours in one large bin and we had to sort through everything when looking for a refill.  This makes much more sense, don’t you think?

This project ran about $10 and was very easy to do in a rather short period of time.  It’s also one of those things that I don’t mind investing a bit of money in since the white bins could be used in any house in a number of locations to better organize us.

And since I’ve been a good bargain shopper today I thought I’d also share with you my lunch.  It’s ridiculously hot and humid still in Japan and the last thing I want to do is turn my oven on and cook for just me while everyone else is at school or work.  So I popped into the Sunkus across the street from my apartment building (like a nicer version of an American 7-11).  For about $3.50 I can get a bag of edamame and an onigiri.  Yum!

Even better, my lunch had a theme, LOL!

Linked to:

A Bowl Full of Lemons

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our Little Drugstore

  1. You are so clever! Love this!

  2. Tokyo Jinja says:

    Thank goodness for that drugstore!!

  3. Kat says:

    Love your blog, you are so crafty with organizing your home. Definitely has given me many ideas on how to bring some order to my own place. Thanks! Keep up the wonderful work!

  4. amberinjp says:

    I absolutely LOVE the hyaku yen shops! I could [do!] spend an hour in there each time, finding new treasures. My husband is going to freak out if I buy any more cute little notebooks! I try to go there by bicycle because at least then I’m limited to only buy what I can actually carry in my basket.

  5. Vynuss says:

    That’s closet organization at it’s best! I love the little tags and ribbons! I might have to do the same to our closet! Thanks for sharing!!! :)

Leave a Reply

