Washi Tape Takes the Cake

Big Cutie’s 11th birthday is just around the corner and so we are at about DEFCON 4, here at Birthday Central and in full party-prep mode.

She has requested a Washi Tape Craft theme, which I am gladly indulging as it affords me the opportunity to continuously sneak more adorable washi tape into the apartment {keep moving, my dear husband ~ nothing to see here}.

Big Cutie’s and my goal is to incorporate washi tape into the party in as many ways as possible, so of course the invitations had to be “washi’d!”  After searching the Internet and Pinterest, I settled on a simple birthday cake and line design.  These were easy and very simple to do.

In fact, they remind me of some of the very first line drawings I ever learned how to do, which came from the Ed Emberley’s Drawing Book of Faces.  I love this book so much and have used it for so long, that I even brought my original 1975 version with me to Japan {a sign of inflation is that my hardback version sold for $4.95 and the paperback one currently retails for $6.99 on Amazon, LOL}.  Can you tell it’s been well-loved?

If you don’t know of Ed Emberley’s books I highly recommend them.  Especially if you don’t particularly consider yourself artistic and are a Mom and might need to amaze your children with a drawing of a martian or a princess.  Each drawing is short and simple and shows you a few quick lines to create your finished product.

As usual, I digress.

We started with three strips of coordinating washi tape, each a little longer than the next, to represent the “layers” of our birthday cake.

Then I took a fine Sharpie marker and drew three straight lines with a little teardrop above each.  And now we have lit candles!

Under the bottom piece of washi tape, I drew a long line with a ‘C’ on either side and then lots of little ‘Us’ underneath.  Below that I drew three snails with a long tail to connect them up to the ‘Us.’  Voila!  You’ve now drawn a cake plate.

Then I just typed up the rest of the information, ran it through the printer and we were ready with an invitation!

We’ve got quite a few other washi projects up our sleeves to share soon!

Linked to:

Visit thecsiproject.com

This entry was posted in Parties and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Washi Tape Takes the Cake

  1. Sasha says:

    Cute cute cute! Love how they are all a little different!

  2. oh my gosh, i remember those drawing books, lol. this theme is so cute, and i would think totally easy to snazz up. i’m seeing a lot of washi tape on pumpkins this year, too.

  3. amberinjp says:

    my birthday is coming up & I’m definitely taking a hint from here… and for all birthday cards heading home! Awesome!! Thanks again!!

  4. Tokyo Jinja says:

    Can I copy this in November??

  5. Ashley says:

    Do you print them out first, and then add the washi tape to each invite?

  6. Laurie says:

    Genius. As always an inspiration! Can’t wait for the rest of the party

  7. Laura says:

    I really love these invitations and I love that each one is a little different. Thank you for linking up to The CSI Project Washi Tape Challenge. Laura at The Ironstone Nest

  8. Pingback: Winners of the Washi Tape Challenge | The CSI Project

  9. Leah says:

    I love this idea, so simple, but so cute!

Leave a Reply

