The End of an Era

With the click of an Amazon order just now it’s finally happened.

No one in the Felt So Cute household is getting a homemade Halloween costume this year {sniff! sniff!}.  I knew the day would come, but it still saddens me a little bit to think about ripping open a plastic package and tossing it on them October 31st instead of snapping photos of my Cuties in my labors of love.

Now talk to me again around October 29th without hot glue gun burned finger tips or an impending deadline circling like a coven of witches.  I’ll be the one giddly sipping yuzu mojitos wondering why I didn’t think of online shopping before!

So in honor of all the bolts of felt that bravely gave their lives to Halloween’s past I thought I’d share some of the costumes I’ve made the Cuties over the years.

Last year’s Jewel from the movie Rio ~

{You can see a tutorial on how to make this costume yourself here}

Our very proud peacock ~

{You can find a tutorial on this costume here}

My apologies that these next few costumes pre-date my blogging time, but now that you’ve seen my unconventional methodologies of excessive glue gunning and wire construction you pretty much know all my secrets.

A very specific request for a monarch butterfly in purple not orange, LOL ~

And our little purple crayon ~

All of these costume use less than $10 materials for construction and about an additional $10-$25 for any “clothing base” I may have started with such as sweatshirts.

So, which one is your favorite?  Can you guess mine?

Linked to:
Kellys Korner
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The End of an Era

  1. Melinda says:

    So why did you buy online this year rather than making them?

  2. Kelly S says:

    My guess for your fav is the Jewel from Rio costume. It’s my fav!

  3. Julie says:

    I am guessing you love the Jewel costume…I sure do! Peacock is awesome also!!! Thanks for sharing so much on this fabulous blog! I read each and every post!

  4. Kristi Laverty says:

    I love your little purple crayon!

  5. Anna says:

    The crayon is just precious. :) Guessing your favorite is the butterfly?

  6. Natalie says:

    Oh my goodness! I am so glad you linked this up to Kelly’s Korner today. I’m am pinning this for next year. The Jewel costume is to die for! Sarah will love it. =)
    May the Schwartz be with You

Leave a Reply

