Wild for Washi

After much brainstorming, Big Cutie decided on a Washi Craft Birthday Party this year.  Our goal was to incorporate washi tape into as many parts of the party as possible, especially when we discovered that so many of her friends really hadn’t ever used it, despite living in Japan, too.

We set the tone for the party with our birthday cake invitations made from washi tape.  They were quite the hit and I’ve even had a few Moms tell me they’re planning to try it for future parties.  {Yay!  I love real paper invitations, and would love to see more of them!}.

Our cake, of course, needed some washi flair, so we did a simple white frosting with a shell edge and stars, and then took two wooden skewers, some baking twine, and made washi tape flags to swag between the skewers.  I LOVE how this turned out, as did all the girls.  There were many requests for the banner, so I quickly taught them how I did it.

The paper goods were chosen specifically because the stripes reminded us of washi tape, and then we took clear plastic forks, and wrapped them in more tape for added pizzazz.

We had the food table at one end of the apartment building’s party room, and in the middle of the room we set up the main event:  washi craft central!

Each girl had six different projects {composition notebook, frame, pencil, ring, treasure tin and an animal figurine} available to them, in addition to more rolls of washi tape than I’m willing to admit to having purchased.

 This was seriously the BEST party for 10 and 11-year-old girls!  They were too cute for words, and completely focused and into it.  For more than an hour and a half, they intensely created the coolest projects.  They were talking and working and I pretty much sat back in the corner, chatting with my husband doing almost nothing, while everyone was happy.  Especially me!

There were very busy girls.

As the girls finished each project, they had a large shopping bag ready in which to place their projects and I had made up little labels that said Designed by XXX for the girls to put on each of their creations.

Big Cutie went to bed telling me what a great time she had.  I kinda think they all did. ;-)

This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wild for Washi

  1. Tokyo Jinja says:

    I can’t believe you have had the party today and managed to post about it already! You rock!

  2. George says:

    So cool! Where did you pick up your washi tapes! Itohya?

  3. Carolyn says:

    I love all of the projects! I’ve gotta get a hold of washi tape!

  4. Shelli says:

    Fantastic party. I’m sure that the girls loved it

  5. Michelle says:

    I wish I had daughters LOL this looks like such a fun birthday party idea!

Leave a Reply

