Packing Accessories

I know I’ve shared with you how I pack my carry on for long trips before, but I thought I’d share some of the cute accessories I use when organizing my bags.

I should start by acknowledging whole-heartedly that yes, I know I have a Lilly Pulitzer problem.  And no, they don’t pay me to endorse them.  And yes, my husband thinks they should.

These are my makeup and toiletries bags.  The largest holds all my toiletries.  The medium-sized one has my makeup and the small one {which is actually a pencil bag} holds my makeup brushes and lipsticks and lip glosses.  I find my brushes stay in better condition when I keep them separate.

While most hotels have hair dryers as standard fare now, I still always travel with my own flat-iron.  Because I’m often packing soon after using it, I love having a pouch for it that’s lined in a heat-resistant material so it can go right inside.  I found mine years ago at Marshalls, but here’s a cute one that’s also a bargain.

Part of my general packing philosophy is to separate and organize like things for ease of finding what I need in an unfamiliar setting.  So the thin bag on the left holds my hair “stuff;” things like ponytail elastics, headbands for working out and the clips I use to pull back my hair while drying it.  The pink bag on the right holds all my medications.  Remember, it’s important to always pack your medications in your carry on bag in case your luggage is lost!

I’ve mentioned this before, but I always carry my own pens when traveling internationally so I have them accessible to fill out customs forms and don’t have to wait for the flight attendants.   And just like my medications, I always bring my jewelry in my carry on bag, too, so that’s what’s in the pink striped pouch.

Whenever I put shoes into my suitcase, I prefer to put them in shoe bags so my clothes don’t happen to get dirty by accident.  So whenever a new pair of shoes comes with one, I stash away in the bin where we keep all of our travel things.  Of course that means my poor husband is often stuck with a lot of flowery and pink shoe bags to choose from, but free, is free, right?

Another good Marshalls find was this large lingerie bag that I pack empty so I can put my dirty unmentionables inside throughout the duration of a trip.

These two bags go from my carry on to my purse upon arrival.  First, can we discuss how absolutely adorable they are?  You can find tons of designs at Cheeky Leopard’s Etsy shop.  I love so many of her bags, that I think I will be buying more and more and more…The elephant bag is my “everything” bag; it holds a lip gloss, band aids, ponytail elastics, disposable o-shibori (wet wipes), nail file, tissues, spare contacts, and a compact mirror.  The mini damask bag holds my headphones so they don’t get tangled with everything else.

My feet are always chilly on airplanes and I find I can’t sleep in the slippers often provided, so I found these little slippers that fold up into their own pouch.  They are very soft and cozy and just stay in my carry on.

Because most of our flights these days are long electronics are fairly important.  For everyday use, the basic cover on my iPad is more than sufficient, but when I travel I prefer to have the additional protection of the padded sleeve, so I use both.

The last of my travel accessories I think are “must haves” are brightly colored luggage tags and suitcase belts.  I used to see these on the baggage claim belt and ignore them, but I randomly bought them after moving to Japan because everyone here had them and I figured they must know something we didn’t.  Well this past summer we lost two suitcases to the airlines and if we hadn’t used belts I can’t even imagine what would have happened to our clothing!

So that’s it.  Our bags are packed and we’re ready to go.

Hopes this helps you be organized in your travels.

The beach beckons!

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Packing Accessories

  1. Condo Blues says:

    I understand about your Lily “problem.” My mother in law has a Vera Bradley problem. I think your “issue” is much prettier :)

  2. Pia says:

    What age were your kids when you stopped carrying a diaper bag? We travel a lot and they are 3 and 6…carrying their own backpacks but I still like to have an extra set of clothes, tylenol, etc just in case.

    • feltsocute says:

      Once everyone was potty trained I stopped with a diaper bag. They each carry a spare pair of socks, underwear and a clean shirt in a ziplock in their bag (and I always bring a spare pair of underwear as well – too many times we’ve been stranded at an airport overnight!). I do carry kids medications in my med bag as well in case someone doesn’t feel great while traveling. I put snacks in each of their backpacks and often use shopping for them as a way to kill time at the airport.

  3. Katie Gordon says:

    Wow, you are a very organized lady! Thanks so much for mentioning my Cheeky Leopard bags in your fab post. Have a great vacation!

  4. george says:

    “Ready, Set, Go” indeed! Can you come pack me! Love the little purse idea for the head phones, and I’m not however, short of a pouch or two! Ah for the simple things! Thank you for pointing me forward! Have a wonderful – wonder filled vacation!

  5. Oh old friend! You are such an inspiration in so many ways. Thank you for writing, posting and re-affirming the things I do before a trip–even just off-campus! Joe left twelve hours ago for admissions work in the US for King’s and the children and I will follow in 18.5 days for a six-day adventure in NYC followed by two weeks at the new house with a boy birthday party right in the midst of all good things. My goal for this trip is to leave the house here as organized as our bags! Thinking about all my cookie cutters in a watertight blue bin in Connecticut that have followed me around and around from your old home in Chicago.

  6. Ava Grace says:

    Thanks so much for the great little bags from Etsy. I just ordered two….

Leave a Reply

