GoodReads and an Update

I love to read.

I love that I have a family of readers.

There are, however, a few problems in my world of reading:

1) I am prone to ‘losing myself’ in a book and either ignore all other responsibilities like laundry, dishes, or preparing food to feed my family or I stay up until the wee hours of the night vowing to “finish just one more chapter.”

2) I read ridiculously fast.  Seriously.  I’m a borderline speed reader.  In school, teachers constantly questioned my comprehension because of it.  Why is this a problem?  Well, in our digital age, where I can instantaneously upload the next book I want to read, I can blow through cash at Amazon at an alarming rate.

3) Because I live in a foreign country, in order to easily access books in English, I now read almost all of my books on my Kindle or iPad.  On occasion I forget to charge everything every night, and will suddenly find myself out and about on the train with zero charge and no more book to read.  Major bummer, dude.

I am not one to make New Year’s resolutions.  I don’t really believe in them {not the idea of vowing to make changes in your life, but the notion of only doing it once a year – I think we should be empowered to enact changes in our lives whenever we feel the need}. 

However, this year, I want to be better about turning off the TV, shutting down my laptop, and reading.  Reading things I want to read, reading things my husband recommends {he’s also a voracious reader; one of the many things I adore about him!}, and reading more with The Cuties.

So I have added a GoodReads button to the blog, and will chronicle what I read this year.  Sometimes, you’ll be able to tell it was clearly, a book I chose ~ like Gone Girl that I read in a day at the beach this past week.  And sometimes, you will be able to tell I’ve read a book with one of The Cuties.  They are both well beyond wanting to be read to anymore, but over Thanksgiving, all four of us read R.J. Palacio’s amazing book, Wonder and discussed it {fabulous book, by the way ~ I recommend it for all ages!}.  It was such a great experience, that I’ve promised myself I will continue reading books along with them and discussing them to hear their thoughts and ideas about characters and the conversations that spin off of from the plot.  So that’s why you’ll also see tween books like The Black Stallion pop up every now and then, as well.

I’d love your book recommendations and to hear what you’re reading, too.

On a different note, after a brief hiatus, we are back in Japan, and I hope to get the blog back on track soon.  

To give you a brief glimpse of our craziness ~ we had my in-laws here visiting for almost three weeks and traveling with us, and then two weeks later I took The Cuties to America for ten days solo to see all seven of my nieces and nephews and all of my and my husband’s siblings in Chicago and Washington, DC.  Then we flew back to Japan, and less than 72 hours later were on a plane to Cebu, the Philippines for a week-long family vacation for the four of us.  We’ve returned, and now my parents arrive tomorrow for two weeks and in the middle of their visit we are moving to a new apartment and I’m throwing Little Cutie’s birthday party for 20 children.

At this point I think I’m going to pretty much survive on chai lattes, cocktails and chocolate!

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to GoodReads and an Update

  1. amberinjp says:

    I totally agree about the New Years resolutions… It seems to me that any time someone calls their goal a New Years resolution, it’s not going to last more than a week!
    Just this week I stumbled upon the blog of my english teacher back in high school, about the books he’s read – if you’re looking for some book ideas, it might be worth checking out (once you have more time, anyway!): http://bookcommercial.blogspot.jp/

  2. Jess says:

    Instead of buying ebooks, you can rent them. I rent through my local library, I get ebooks for two weeks befor the disappear from my kindle or iPad. It might be more difficult for you but I’d bet that there is a website to rent books for a small charge. The library uses a service called overdrive.

  3. thecapeonthecorner says:

    I loove reading, and I love people who love to read! I had the same problem in school, and oftentimes I wouldn’t remember little details about what we read, because I would have already read other books to keep occupied. Gone girl was great, and fast, and 2 of my favorites this year were the night circus & the age of miracles. Wonder is on
    my list alreaady, so glad to hear it’s good. Enjoy your family time!

  4. Your plane flight must have been forever long, especially to the east coast. Glad you made it there and back safely. I’ve really enjoyed reading about your family this past year.

  5. For the last few weeks I’ve tried to remember the website “goodreads” and couldn’t find it or think of what it was called. Thanks for mentioning it again. Now I’m going to update my account. lol

Leave a Reply

