Sanshoku-don Bowls

We have a new family favorite for dinner since moving to Japan.

And I’m going to share a secret with just you readers, but not my family.

It’s delicious, healthy, easy and involves no actual cooking on my part.

Seriously.  You can’t tell my children I haven’t been slaving in the kitchen all day while they’re at school to make their favorite meal.

So now that my secret is safe between us and the whole Internet, let me share.

sanshoku-don bowl is literally “rice with three different seafood toppings.”

Yup.  That’s it.

Here’s all you need:

ingredientsburi

{from left to right across the top: rice, tuna sashimi, negitoro [tuna belly], ikura [salmon roe] and across the bottom: nori sprinkles [seaweed], scallions, wasabi root and shiso leaves [mint]}

After rinsing the rice and making it in my rice cooker, I scoop it into our bowls to let it cool a bit and slightly salt the rice.

I then add a shiso leaf to the middle of the bowl {this is a yummy minty flavor and makes an outstanding addition to a mojito ~ but we’re not discussing cocktails, now are we?}

shiso

On top of the shiso, I add a dollop of wasabi that we’ve grated ourselves.  If you have an Asian market, it’s absolutely worth it to hunt this down.  Fresh wasabi is so much yummier than the paste you squeeze out of the tube.  More importantly, its great fun to grate it yourself, and a way kids can help if you use a ceramic grater instead of a metal one {be sure to peel the wasabi first}.

wasabi2

Then I simply add chopped scallions, a spoonful of ikura, a large spoonful of negitoro and several slices of tuna sashimi.  Now that we have our three seafood selections, I add a bit of nori shreds, and serve!

don

This is an especially great and filling meal on a night when kids have activities and we get home right at dinner time.  I often start the rice cooker in the afternoon and slice up the tuna and put it back in the fridge in a Tupperware container so all I have to do at dinner time is assemble.

Itadakimasu!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sanshoku-don Bowls

  1. Betsy says:

    sounds delicious! not sure we have the same availability of fresh tuna belly here in the states but my family would love that too!

  2. Tokyo Jinja says:

    Where do you buy your fish?

  3. Dana says:

    Sounds great, however, it would be quite an adventure to find these items around here. We have a great asian market in Seattle which sadly we rarely make it to.

  4. Molly says:

    A- just wanted to stop by from the bargain board and let you know that not only do I read your blog regularly, I made this for dinner tonight! I was in my 99 Ranch and saw their beautiful sushi fish selection, and while I didn’t feel like rolling sushi, I remembered this post and this was a great way to use the fish with minimal effort. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

