My Favorite Room

I’ve mentioned there were a few things that made moving to a new apartment especially enticing for us, but the kitchen is far and away tops on the list.

In our old apartment I really didn’t have room to bake, which I love to do.  It was particularly dark from a lack of windows, and there was barely room to squeeze a little table and two stools.  I don’t mind that we live in less space overall here in Japan, but it was frustrating to cook a meal and run out of places to put all your pots and pans and still need space for a cutting board!

So imagine me going weak in the knees when I walked in and saw this beauty!

kitchenview

The light!  The counters!  The cabinet space!

I had to close my mouth and make sure I wasn’t drooling.  I’m quite certain it’s a better kitchen than we’ve had in many of the houses we’ve owned.

And it gets better ~ the cabinets continue past the microwave and include a wine fridge {which we’ve discovered seems to encourage us to drink wine much more than we used to ~ funny how that works out!}

cabinets

But wait, there’s more {no, I’m not trying to sell you Ginzu knives}!

The island includes pull out drawers with fabulous deep storage for all my serving bowls and big casserole dishes.  Additionally, there are outlets at both ends of the island which is extra-exciting to us since our last kitchen had exactly one outlet in the entire room!

island

Here’s a closeup of how perfect my fish kashigata molds look up on the hood.  I love the contrast of the vintage wood with the sleek and modern!

kashigata

Between the kitchen and the hallway back to our bedrooms sits our laundry room.  It’s a much less onerous location than next to my refrigerator, and I’m in heaven having full-sized machines again.

laundry

But the very best part?

That’s my little desk area.  I love having a place for my laptop, household binders, bulletin board, etc. that’s right in the heart of where our family lives.

deskarea

And for the record, I’m pretty sure the rental furniture delivery guys hadn’t even made it out of the elevator before I’d fired up my Silhouette and created my vinyl monogram for the ghost chair!

ghostchair

Gotta run ~ I’m loving being in my kitchen so much I’m going to prep tomorrow night’s dinner tonight.  I’m trying Robert DeNiro’s miso black cod from Nobu.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Decorating, Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Favorite Room

  1. amberinjp says:

    OH MY GOD! You have a real oven! I am so insanely jealous!
    I haven’t baked cupcakes in almost a year and it’s so sad – maybe once I move next month I’ll try to bake some little stuff in my microwave/oven thing they have here!

  2. Aunt Pam says:

    That’s beautiful! I want to hear how the black cod comes out. And, I was thinking of doing ghost stools…prob without the monogram! But, looks pretty great!

  3. Rachel says:

    Holy cow!!! What ward is your new place in? That kitchen is SO WESTERN! I can’t get over it.

  4. Lindsay K says:

    What font did you use for your monogram on the ghost chair? It’s beautiful! So happy for your new home!

  5. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly
    appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

