Remembering March 11

There are many amazing links out there with photographs and writings about that fateful day two years ago in Tohoko.  I urge you to spend a few minutes checking them out today {or tomorrow if you’re in America}.

Being here, and hearing my girlfriends’ stories ~ I can tell you who was in their car on the Rainbow Bridge, who was at the American School and who was inside Toys R Us when the earth began to move.  I feel their fear all over.  I ache for them.  I knew their tension when we recently had a snow day and the buses took five hours to get our children home and I watched them relive waiting on buses to get the children home from school for hours upon hours the day of the earthquake.

It was about 22 months ago that we first started talking about moving to Tokyo.  Many of our friends and family were understandably scared for us.  The week we told The Cuties, their school was still fundraising to help with the relief efforts.  We were wary, but excited to try. And so we came.

I know I’m jumbled here.  And I’m honestly not sure I really want to edit and rewrite over and over today.  It’s a hard day and it should be hard to write.

But this I know.

Japan is amazing.

The Japanese people are incredible.

And ranking after marrying my husband and having The Cuties, I can without a doubt say that moving here and having this opportunity is one of the single best things I’ve ever done in my life and I’m so very glad to be here and experience it all.

Ganbare Nippon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remembering March 11

  1. Tokyo Jinja says:

    I think you said it very well – and we are glad you came!

Leave a Reply

