Become a Brussel Sprout Believer

I’ll confess something to you.

I used to be one of those people.

You know us.  The ones who said they didn’t like Brussel Sprouts.  But hadn’t ever really tried Brussel Sprouts.  Yup.  One of those.  I mean they look a bit strange in their organic state, and as an adult I always found the resemblance to the biological weapons in the movie The Rock a little disconcerting to say the least

brussel_sprout_igor the-rock

But, oh how my tune has changed.

I recently made this recipe and had to resist the urge to close the door to the kitchen and not share with my children {of course it’s rather difficult to hide any recipe that calls for 5 cloves of garlic when it’s roasting in the oven for close to an hour, but let’s pretend I was generous and loving, shall we?}.

Start by trimming and halving about 2 pounds of Brussel Sprouts {don’t panic and think this sounds like to much ~ trust me, they’re this good and your children will mow them down and ask you for more and then how guilt-ridden will you feel denying them seconds on Brussel Sprouts??!!!!}

brusselsproutshalved

Take five cloves of garlic and mince them.  The recipe says you can press them through a garlic press but ever since I read Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential and he rants against this gadget I’ve been paranoid I’ll run into him some day on the streets of Tokyo and he’ll randomly ask me if I use a garlic press. Goody two shoes that I am I will have to answer truthfully so it seems easier to just avoid using garlic presses for the rest of my life on the outside chance this ever happens.  Have I mentioned lately I need therapy?

Besides, I’ve told you several times how fabulous ceramic graters are, so you should use one of those anyway.

garlic

Add the garlic, 1/2 cup water, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon sea salt and a 1/2 teaspoon black pepper to the Brussel Sprouts and toss together.  Spread out into a single layer.  Bake for 40-50 minutes at 425 degrees in the upper third of your oven.  About halfway through, be sure to stir.  When finished, make sure you scrape all the caramelized  brown yumminess {yes, that’s a technical cooking term ~ look it up} into your serving bowl, as it’s part of what makes this dish so delicious.

brusselsproutyummies

Now, start planning to bring this to every family dinner and then quietly gloat how everyone in your family now loves their healthy vegetables and you are personally responsible for adding years to their lives for making them pass on the Velveeta-covered broccoli!

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Become a Brussel Sprout Believer

  1. Sue says:

    I had to comment…I ADORE sprouts and sing their praises every chance I get. And…I get looked at like I am nuts, so I get your post. Roast the broccoli too and you won’t miss the cheese sauce (though, I have a microwave cheese sauce that is delish and yummy and sometimes, you just gotta have cheese sauce.)
    Roasting veggies is my new, new passion. And Anthony…he is great but if you want to use a press, we will keep it between us girls.

  2. This looks really good! My mom steams them (and I’ll have to get the ingredient details again) and we fight over them. My daughter loves them too. The first time I saw them on a stem like you have pictured was at Trader Joes. I was cracking up cause I had never seen them like that. It does make them much fresher tasting.

  3. Michelle says:

    Hmmm, I love brussel sprouts! My mom introduced me to Alton Brown’s recipe a few years ago, it is delicious!

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/brussels-sprouts-with-bacon-and-cheese-recipe/index.html

Leave a Reply

