There’s a Little Less Pink and Green in the World

The lovely Lilly Pulitzer Rousseau passed away today.

For so many of us Lilly Lovers it began watching our mothers or grandmothers emulate this beautiful fashion icon, but not me.

mothersdayLilly

My love of Lilly began with my Grandfather.

Ever-dapper, ever-colorful, he embodied the Lilly life the way Lilly herself wanted people to.  And when he passed away and I went to clean out his closet I couldn’t help but smile at the stacks of sherbet-colored cashmere sweaters and golf pants.

preschoolLilly

But what really caught my eye and made me grin the most were the sea of Lilly Original sport coats in amazing shades of apricot, fuchsia, mint green and more.  All lined in her signature prints, they were a burst of extra happy when you snuck a peek at the bold lions or lavender seahorses dancing inside.

FallLilly

I wore Lilly through both of my pregnancies and The Cuties’ childhoods will forever be defined by Lilly.  Every special occasion, vacation and most treasured photographs have a Lilly touch somewhere within.

WhiteHouseLilly

A special thanks to Lilly for making all our days pink, green, happy and bright!

LillyHawaii

I know you’re somewhere sipping drinks with umbrellas, wearing something fabulous and throwing one helluva party!

 

This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to There’s a Little Less Pink and Green in the World

  1. Kat says:

    I thought of you this morning when I read the news…her style lives on!

  2. Christie says:

    I thought of you, also. I just got my new phone cover yesterday.

  3. gena says:

    Make that three – first thing that came to mind when I read that this morning was YOU! I went to a private all girls prep school and Lilly was EVERYWHERE…

    gena

  4. Ayelet says:

    I thought of you immediately when I heard the news. I think you’re right though – she’s somewhere warm wearing something amazing and drinking a Mai Tai :)

  5. Marysue says:

    I LOVED your blog today!

Leave a Reply

