Hello Muddah, Hello Faddah!

This summer my Cuties are going to sleep away camp for the first time.

For a month.

Everyone is over the top excited, but the Mama in me is rather sad at the prospect of not hearing about their day each evening at the dinner table.  So they’ve promised to write to me on a semi-regular basis {I’ll let you know how that plays out!}.

To best facilitate the whole “I promise to write you every other day thing” I made up a special box for each of them to take to camp.

letter box

{For the record: while I considered many things while naming The Cuties, I never thought about potential alliteration for summer camp paraphernalia, and this is merely a coincidence, I swear!}

Because we do not have Michael’s or Target in Japan, finding an appropriate box that didn’t cost ¥5000 was quite the challenge.  I finally found these at Uematsu, a proper art supply store for a very reasonable price and can now think of at least a half-dozen other ways to use them so I will be headed back for more!

Here’s what I included inside each box {from left to right}:

boxinsides

*address labels with my summer address and their Daddy’s when he has to be back in Tokyo working, as well as return address labels with the camp address {can you tell I don’t want there to be any excuses not to write?!}

*Air Mail stationery for letters to Japan

*Personalized notepads from camp {if you subscribe to their newsletter right now you can receive 15% off your order!}

*Flat notecards and envelopes.  These are the perfect size for 9 & 11 year olds. {My cards are a little older from my stash I’ve bought during Boatman Gellar’s incredible online tent sales, however their designs continue to be adorable, so I’m sure you’ll find something you like!}

*Stickers for decorating envelopes.  {I’m pretty sure I decorated my letters home from camp over thirty years ago with Mrs. Grossman’s stickers, too.  Does that make me or the stickers vintage?}

*washi tape for sealing envelopes, and because pretty much my philosophy in life since moving to Tokyo is you can never be without washi tape.

*Colorful pens for writing home! {I’ve written about how much I love the erasable pens easily found here in Japan, but last summer I discovered that the ink faded when left out in the heat of the sun, and I didn’t want to chance an envelope not making its way to me, so I avoided using these in this instance!}

*Japanese stationery sets.  For someone like me who loves to buy new stationery all the time, I love that most stationery sets in Japan only come in packs of five; it allows me to justify buying more!

*****

So The Cuties will be ready to go when we head to the States and I send them on their merry way.  All I have to do now is add stamps.

And I haven’t forgotten the grownups, of course!

I’m gathering up my own things and plan to shop a bit in America, however I want to leave things set for my husband.  The Cuties’ camp director has graciously said that he can send emails to them and they’ll be permitted to write back due to the distance issue, however he’d also like to send some “real mail” their way as well.

So I made this up to leave in his office for him:

dads file

He’s got labels for each girl, stamps to mail things from Tokyo to camp, and a bunch of cute cards from Japan.

One project down, twenty-seven more to go before we pack to head to summer camp!

This entry was posted in Craft Projects, Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hello Muddah, Hello Faddah!

  1. Hey- I might take up writing letters with the letter— crafting kit—– you out together! Great idea! And I have developed an addiction to washi tape. Thanks for that.

  2. Laurie says:

    You found the boxes!! Yeah! Awesome assortment of wonderful ways to keep in touch.

  3. I made a box for “Thing One” when he went to camp four years ago and he never uses it – he says he’s too busy. Silly boy! “Thing Two” went to camp last year for the first time and LOVES hers! It’s not quite this fancy, but you’ve given me a few good ideas to spice it up! Thanks.

  4. karen0221 says:

    Sems like a much better tactic than the puppy dog eyes showing them the self addressed envelopes. I think I may have gotten a postcard once or twice over the many years that my guys spend at camp. Had I only known that if I had been creative and put those self addressed airmail envelopes in a cute box, with cute stationary and stickers, I might have been more successful :)

Leave a Reply

