Why I’ve Been MIA

I’ve got Blogger Guilt for not writing in over a week.

It’s not you, it’s me, I swear.

We’ve simply entered that end of the school year craze where the calendar is beginning to resemble a rainbow of appointments, social events, and school functions.  I’m doing my best to keep my head above water and have fun while doing it!

Since we last chatted, here’s what I’ve been up to ~

Threw a small dinner party for work people

As always, it’s a challenge sometimes to work with Western recipes in an Asian country.  After a year and a half, I’ve become accustomed to getting out my little kitchen scale and looking up how to convert grams to ounces or cups, but I still stumble sometimes in the purchasing department.  For one recipe I needed dried tarragon.  After trips to three different markets, I realized that tarragon is only sold in large pieces in Japan as opposed to a fine powder.  Clearly, that was not ideal for a salad dressing.  In a last-minute attempt to not have to re-plan the menu, I bought a small mortar and pestle, which worked brilliantly, and had the added bonus of bringing oohs an aahs from The Cuties!

mortarandpestle

Spent an afternoon with a local framer

Oh Tokyo is spoiling me rotten.  Instead of loading up my art and heading to Michael’s or a neighborhood framing shop, a lovely man came to my apartment with a suitcase filled with frame and mat samples.  Two girlfriends joined me, and we drank tea, helped each other and placed our orders.  Simply, divine.

framing2

Scheduled my first appointments for Big Cutie’s Bat Mitzvah

We officially have a date on the calendar and are very excited!  Big Cutie has all sorts of ideas about what she wants for her party and I am so looking forward to planning things with her.  I’m really thrilled she wants to have an active role in her big day.  The challenge for me, however, is trying to explain to the Japanese what exactly it is I’m scheduling…..I’m having a lot of conversations that run like this, “it’s sort of like a wedding ~ without a groom ~ and oh yeah, the ‘bride’ is only 13.”  I imagine after I leave they are talking for hours about the crazy American lady!

Attended Middle School Parent Orientation

How the HECK do I have a child going into MIDDLE SCHOOL??!!!!  Like an impending birthday isn’t making me hyper-focused on gray hairs as it is, sitting in an auditorium listening to information on lockers, changing classes, laptops and dances – DANCES, people! – sure is.  Big Cutie, of course, is SO excited about it, and why shouldn’t she be?  It’s all bigger and better in her world.  Me?  I just found myself counting the years ’til she heads off to college and had to sit down and compose myself {7 in case you’re wondering}.

backpack

Surviving the Husband’s Week+ Business Trip

I know most of my Expat friends have husbands who travel all the time, but I’m very blessed and mine does not.  I’m also VERY out of practice to having him gone, and we all miss him terribly, but we’re entering the home stretch and will have him home before we know it.  Which is critical for two reasons:  most importantly because we love and miss him, and a close second because the Apple TV has been out for more than 48 hours and I’ve been unable to fix it.  As the Person in Charge of All Things Electronic, this falls under his purview, so I am extra-looking forward to his return!

Appletv

So that’s my story {and I’m sticking to it}.

I hope life is calm, cool and collected in your worlds!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why I’ve Been MIA

  1. Kristen Eakins says:

    I remember going to your amazing Bat Mitzvah at the Four Seasons in Georgetown. :)

  2. I’m guessing the bat mitzva is similar to Spanish Catholic’s quicinera. They also describe it as a wedding as well. But after contemplating this long and hard (and trying to understand since neither of these celebrations are a tradition in my family) I’m wondering if it is more akin to the South’s debut? Wikipedia explains the girl is a debutante or translated as female beginner. Introducing a girl into society as an adult.
    Either way it introduces the youth into adulthood, which gives them more freedoms and responsibilities, I’m guessing?

    • feltsocute says:

      A Bat Mitzvah is actually different from both of those. Translated, it means “Daughter of the Commandment” and is a religious ceremony that marks the day a girl assumes adult responsibility in the Jewish religion. Children study for almost a year in preparation to read Torah and lead the service that day. Following it is a party of celebration with family and friends.

  3. Mary says:

    Unplug the Apple TV and try again. It has worked so far for me! :)

    • feltsocute says:

      That’s pretty much the one trick I know how to do and it didn’t work. However I’m proud to announce Big Cutie to the rescue – she figured it out and has brought it back to life! Girl Power!

  4. Sarah says:

    Do you happen to know the name of the pattern on your Vera Bradley bag? I love it.

Leave a Reply

