Bald is Beautiful

I’ve been hinting at something special going on in our house for a while now, and I’m finally ready to spill the beans.

Back in March, Little Cutie found out about the amazing St. Baldrick’s Foundation, and their work raising funds for pediatric cancer research.

{Note: While not suitable for very young children, we felt this was a very appropriate video for The Cuties, ages 9 & 11, to better understand the impact of pediatric cancer and fundraising efforts}.

Ever big-hearted, Little Cutie was empowered by the idea that she could help and that this was something she could do as a “just a kid.”

And so she proposed shaving her head to raise money.

We talked about it with her, and as a family at length, explaining what people might say or think when they see her without hair.  But she was even-keeled, strong in spirit, and clear of purpose.

And so we supported her 100%.

She wrote the loveliest of letters and the husband and I forwarded it off to everyone we knew.  She talked about it to people in person, to kids at school and they went home and talked to their parents, and friends stopped me in the neighborhood and around town to talk about the plan and lend their support.

And the response was overwhelming.

Amazingly overwhelming.

See, most St. Baldrick’s events in America are big productions in bars or shopping malls with lots of participants, and professional advertising.  Not our little One Girl Wonder in Tokyo.  Our small community and Little Cutie of the Big Heart ~ you know what we all made happen?

$12,142.00 raised for pediatric cancer research!!!

And that, my dear readers, deserves a celebration, don’t you think?

A celebration of our family and friends and their love and support.

A celebration of those we love who have fought cancer and survived and are still in our lives and we are all the more blessed.

A celebration of those we loved who lost their battles with cancer so we could remember them once more.

A celebration of a room filled with children of all ages, who came to hoot and holler and cheer on a friend as she did something different.

And a celebration of our Little Cutie, who gave something way more than just her hair today.

The response to this post has been incredible.  So much so we’d like to share the link to Little Cutie’s fundraising page if you are interested in donating to the St. Baldrick’s Foundation.  

DONATE HERE!

frontdoor2

{Before the big shave, she donated several ponytails to Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths, like she did last year ~  No need to waste all that hair, right?!!!}

ponytails

package

clippers

haireverywhere

thereveal

familybald

marshpops

pretzelsprinkles

happyshavingday

A very special thank you to Roberto Perozzi for his hair expertise and to my girlfriend Stephanie for her fantastic photography and for allowing us to be “in the moment.”

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Bald is Beautiful

  1. Lynn says:

    Oh my goodness what a wonderful little girl you have for doing that and she looks as cute as a button in her new hair. Love it!!!!! What a cutie!

  2. Chantal says:

    Such a beautiful story! Way to go little cutie!!!

  3. Shannon says:

    & she rocks it! This story brought tears to my eyes. What amazing children you are raising. :)

  4. Grandma says:

    We are so proud of her!! She is an amazing girl and beautiful with hair, without hair, inside and out!!!!!!! We are also proud of her very supportive family!!! You rock Little Cutie!!!!

  5. Proud aunt Pam says:

    Wow wow wow. Amazing… Been waiting all morning for this! She looks great… And I’m just still amazed at the courage Little Cutie has. Love her (and all of you!)

  6. maclovesme05 says:

    This brought tears to my eyes.. What a very special lil ladies you have. <3

  7. george says:

    Amazing ! Gorgeous with and without hair! Well done!

  8. Jen says:

    Been following since you were on babycenter as wiggles&gumballs and you lived down south. What beautiful daughters you have, both inside and out! Kudos to Little Cutie – what an awesome thing to do!!!

  9. Rachel Smookler says:

    So wish I could have been there! What am amazing daughter and an amazing family! May you all go from strength to strength! I know that Little Cutie will go on to outdo herself year after year and shine her goodness on the world! Please give her a hug from us!!! Love, Rachel

  10. Grammy and Poppy says:

    WOW once again. Little Cutie, you are a champ……and look adorable with and without hair….But most important is how great you look on the inside. We are all so proud of you and love you. So wish we could have been there.. Keep on rockin! Hugs to you and your family, Grammy and Poppy

  11. Michelle says:

    What am amazing girl you have! And the family she is blessed with for supporting her! She brought tears to my eyes this morning.

  12. Amazing kid and family, that just gave me goosebumps. She’s beautiful. I was also shocked to see how grown up and lovely your oldest is and nice to see the whole family. You and your husband got one kid each, resemblance-wise!

  13. gena says:

    What an amazing child you are raising! So pure of heart… I am crying over here in jersey!
    God Bless you Little One!

  14. Ayelet says:

    This brought tears to my eyes! What an amazing daughter you have!!

  15. April Jones says:

    Wow, you’ve got an amazing young lady there! She still looks beautiful. ;o)

  16. Condoblues says:

    I’ve always wanted to do that! Way to go! and as a former cancer family, thank you.

  17. ellohestea says:

    Wow! I happened to find you on Pinterest awhile back and checked out your blog. Your family is amazing and your adventures are so interesting! I love your style and our shared love for Lilly and monograms. I can honestly say that when I grow up and have a family I want it to be as Cute as yours! Your girls are amazing and they are going to grow up into admirable young women. I can’t believe the courage and determination Little Cutie has to do good for others! I wish more kids were as inspirational as she was.

  18. Cassia says:

    AH that made me cry. What a beautiful heart!!

  19. Auntie Heather says:

    As always, totally proud of all of you. Little Cutie you are an inspiration and you have an amazing support system in Big Cutie, mom and dad!

  20. Already a force for good in this world. Bravo.

  21. Kristi Laverty says:

    Little Cutie, you are amazing. I am so proud of you!

  22. Heidi Sanford says:

    What an amazing Family! Love to all.

  23. Oh my gosh! That is absolutely incredible!! GO LITTLE CUTIE! What a rock star!

  24. NorthernGrl says:

    Woohoo darlin’! You look maaaaaarvelous! Well done!

  25. Denise says:

    What an awesome story . My 10 year old daughter has a friend who is battling nuroblastoma . This story touched me on so many levels. What a beautiful child. These children is so brave. Spread awareness . You go little cutie!

  26. Robyn Hammock says:

    What an amazing daughter you have, and what a wonderful support system to have raised such an amount for research! Good job Little Cutie!

  27. What a brave child you have!!! I’d be so proud of my daughter did that. :)

  28. Jennifer R. says:

    How proud you must feel!!! Your daughter is simply amazing! You have done an amazing job of raising a brave, empathetic, BEAUTIFUL (inside and out), young lady :)

  29. uhcds says:

    she is so brave

  30. That`s incredible! What an amazing girl she is. I work in PEDS, and things like this, mean the world to the medical community! :)

  31. I’ve been following you for a couple years and I SO enjoy your blog. I’ve never commented but I had to. What a touching story! What a sweet tender heart she has and obviously, you two as parents are doing such an incredible job instilling in her what is important in life!

  32. Terri says:

    Love this post! How wonderful that your Little Cutie has such a heart for others, and fantastic that she raised such a significant amount of money! Sounds like she is laying the groundwork for a life of helping others. You deserve to feel that pride!
    I so enjoy reading your blog.

  33. Marie-Claire says:

    I’m in awe. What an amazing girl. Wise beyond her years with a heart bigger than any adult. She redefines the meaning of awesome.

  34. What a beautiful girl you have! I got tears as I watched the video, because I was one of those parents who heard those four words when my sweet daughter was only 18 years old.
    I didn’t hear about your daughter’s campaign, Is there a way to still donate in her name?
    hugs to you all
    ~a

  35. H Moore says:

    Great stuff. I’m most impressed, and send my good vibes in support! HM

  36. Ashley says:

    What an amazing daughter you have! Goosebumps! Thank you on behalf of my father who passed away from Lymphoma.

  37. Laurie says:

    what an amazing story.. we have a friend of my daughter going through a fight right now.. she is only 11.. You are raising amazing girls and what an inspiration.. We need more stories like this on the news

  38. Pingback: Bald is beautiful | ASIJ News

  39. fierfliiii says:

    My wish for the world is that all children grow to be as caring as yours. Our Earth would be a much better place . . . all parents should take note of how selfless your babies are . . . Kudos to you all!
    You make my heart smile ;)

Leave a Reply

