Sweet Dreams

I’m continuing to deal with any anxiety I have about The Cuties being gone for a month at overnight camp through Crafting Therapy.

I wonder if there’s a certification program for that?

Like most families, we have a bedtime ritual that involves spending time with each girl before tucking them in and saying goodnight.  I think this is one of the things I will miss the most this summer.

And while I know The Cuties will have a million and one distractions, wonderful counselors, and a cabin filled with new friends, it’s the time I suspect they may miss us the most as well.

And so I wanted them to have a little slice of home to snuggle up to at night.

Home+Summer usually = Lilly in our house, however I’m not so crazy that I’m sending that kind of clothing off to the lake and woods where I seriously hope my girls will be rolling in mud, throwing each other off the dock, and participating whole-heartedly in fights that involve various messy items.

So I turned to my stash of outgrown clothing, lined it with Heat and Bond, and cut out letters, spelling their names.  I then ironed the letters on to plain pillowcases.  Here’s what they looked like at this point:

ironedletters

To better handle the daily wear and tear of kids and the industrial laundry facilities of a summer camp, I went back and sewed a straight stitch all around each letter.

reinforcement

And they’re ready for the bunk beds!

Lpillow

Spillow

And just in case they’re missing a tuck in, they can sneak a peek inside, and know that Mommy and Daddy send their love even from far away!

pillownote

message

Poor husband and me have no one to tuck us in as we are each on separate continents when he has to head back to Japan to work and I’ll be at The Happy Place {I’m pretty sure I got the way better end of that deal, by the way!}.

Linked to:

Madigan Made, House of Hepworths

This entry was posted in Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sweet Dreams

  1. Tracee says:

    A whole month? No way could I send Lilly off that long. The longest we’ve been apart was a week when I was hospitalized.

  2. Lynn says:

    A whole month no way for me either.

  3. Shelli says:

    The pillows bought tears to my eyes.

  4. Lisa says:

    How did you cut out the letters so perfectly?

  5. gena says:

    You’re so brave – we never even allowed sleep overs!!!! The first night my oldest slept away from us was his wedding night – yeah we’re a tad over protective over here.

    I’m sure the cuties will have a wonderful time and the month will fly by! The pillowcases are adorable and I’ll bet the other campers will be jealous of the cuteness!

    hugs,
    gena

  6. Nikki says:

    I’m sure the cuties will have a blast and gain so much in there weeks away. Such a lovely thing to do for them, so they can take a little piece of home with them. You should definatley do cute husband one!

  7. Ashley says:

    Those are beautiful and you are such a loving and caring mama to your girls. I used to be a summer camp counselor and I know your girls will be comforted by your efforts. Sweetest thing ever!

Leave a Reply

