Primping Pleasures

I’ll admit it, I like spas.

And nails, and getting my hair done and pretty much all things girly.

My love of pink and green and Lilly probably tipped you off at some point, didn’t it? ;-)

So imagine my delight the first time I went to get a manicure in Tokyo and discovered a quiet, serene environment, where I was whisked into my own private little room with a closed curtain and a lounge.

Yes, you read that right.  No simple chair, but rather, I recline.  It’s like Passover at the nail salon {I’m pretty sure exactly four readers even get that reference and they’re all related to me by blood or marriage!}.

nails

This is really not a flattering photo of me, but darling Yuka looks adorable in it, so I’m going to go ahead and suffer for the sake of the blog.  Besides, every time you see a “How to Post” and my nails look fabulous, it’s because of Yuka {when they look terrible it’s all my fault}.

You can get a pedicure at a salon in Tokyo, but I’ve yet to see a big massage chair with jacuzzi foot bath like we have in the States.  Instead, however, you can get a pedicure at home while sitting on your sofa, and get this ~ it’s actually a bargain compared to heading to the salon.  So when my husband heads off for a hard day at the office, and I’m in yoga pants looking extra-lazy in the morning, I explain myself away that I’m saving us money.

Today I even treated The Cuties to pedicures for the beach as well so we are sporting a full rainbow of toes in the Felt So Cute household.

pedicure

Finally, my greatest primping indulgence since moving to Japan has been eyelash extensions.  I’ll confess, it’s the perfect marriage of laziness and vanity if ever there was one.  I love not having to mess with eye makeup on a daily basis, and just add in a little liner and shadow for a night on the town if I want.  Even better, when at the beach, there’s no smearing or smudging!

lashesI know, I know.  I look ridiculous.

So these are my luxuries.

I draw the line at anything I have to ingest or inject.

Wait, I lied.

While it was my friends’ turn at lashes, I made chocolate chip cookies.

MANY were ingested.  By all.

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Primping Pleasures

  1. Kay says:

    Sounds heavenly.

  2. Eileen says:

    I got your reference to reclining! Fellow MOT here…

  3. Ashley says:

    You have THE best life of leisure there! Love it. :).
    How long do the eyelashe extensions last ?

  4. Ayelet says:

    I got your reference, and I’m sure you can tell by my name why ;-) Spa days are awesome!

  5. Shelli says:

    you should start that in the states. What a great concept that would be to have a mani and pedi in our own home!

  6. Must Have Boxes says:

    Sounds like a lovely day!

    - KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  7. Suzanne says:

    I am a loyal reader in St. Louis, MO. I started following you years ago, as I felt like you were JUST like me as a mom to two girls just older than my own and that you showed me glimpse into my future. I don’t foresee us moving to Japan–so now I just read to follow your adventure! I got your Passover reference ;)

  8. Proud aunt Pam says:

    I’m one of the 4… Right? Am very curious about those extensions!

  9. Terri says:

    Just love your blog! I love the idea of having those spa services done in my home! I’m kind of a clean freak, so knowing that where I’m sitting has been cleaned to my standards would make the whole experience so much more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

