Footloose and Fancy-Free

With The Cuties off at sleep away camp I am not responsible for checking in on, providing for, meeting up with, or otherwise merely keeping alive another human being for the first time in 11 years, 8 months and 29 days.

Not that I counted or anything.

So how have I spent my first four days of such bliss?

Indulging at the spa?  Gourmet dining? Shoe shopping extravaganzas?

Not so much.

I started off with a bang and had a full dental exam and teeth cleaning, followed by an eye exam and a rather depressing conversation about my age and needing to be more responsible about wearing reading glasses on a regular basis.

I think these are pretty cute.  Well look at that, I just snuck in a little shopping.

katespade

I’ve mentioned before that I have Crohn’s Disease, and so that night I had the pleasure of prepping for my annual colonoscopy.

Good times, people.  Good times. ;-)

The next day was the actual procedure {which went fine}, and then I promptly napped and took it easy the rest of the day per doctor’s orders.  Which also included no driving and no cocktails.  As if having a colonoscopy isn’t a complete and total killjoy.

Today I had my annual visit to the Ob/Gyn {ladies, please remember to do this each and every year!}, followed by a Remicade infusion {the IV medication I receive for my Crohn’s Disease every other month}, a follow-up visit with my Gastroenterologist, a physical and an EKG.

Do I know how to par-tay or what?

I’ve ended my visit up North with a concert in the park and a chance to visit with many friends {cocktails included tonight!}.  I miss them all quite a bit and wish I had more time, but there are projects beckoning down South and visitors soon arriving.

I do have to mention the true definition of amazing friends.  My hosts not only put me up while I was in town, but put up with my crazy schedule, and drove me to and from a colonoscopy.  That goes down in the history books as above and beyond the call of duty, even if your girlfriend happens to be a nurse.

I have a few bandaids from needles this week, but I also have some pretty fabulous friends.

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Footloose and Fancy-Free

  1. Tokyo Jinja says:

    I had a similar, although not quite a grueling two day stint last week that also ended with glasses (for distance though). Check them out here: http://www.warbyparker.com/eyeglasses/women/sims#violet-magnolia
    Relax and enjoy the rest of their time at camp! And we are all waiting on some condo photos :-))

  2. Shelli says:

    Glad all went well. I hope that you did a a lot of damage shopping. Tell your husband that his Aunt gave you permission to spend as much as you want

  3. amberdover says:

    Here’s to more free time and less doctor’s appointments :) cheers!

Leave a Reply

