And Off They Went!

I think I’ve discovered a trick to Expat life and the return from summer travels: if you cut it all close enough, the early wake up for school won’t seem so miserable if you’re still recovering from jet lag!

And so this morning, my “babies” hopped on the bus to start fourth and sixth grades!!!

1stdayofschool2013

Big Cutie is starting Middle School, which while still on the same campus she’s been on, is filled with all sorts of changes like lockers, multiple teachers, new activities and the ability to buy new things in the cafeteria {priorities, people, priorities!}

sixthgrade

And Little Cutie is very excited for Fourth Grade.  She loves school so much and literally was the first person onto the bus this morning.

fourthgrade

It was a fabulous summer, but as all parents usually feel by now, it’s time for school to start and routine to settle in.  I’m ready for activities, homework, swim meets, regular dinners, appointments and exercise.

Besides, I really need to catch up on Breaking Bad. ;-)

****************************

To quickly catch you up on the past month’s chaos and my absentee blogging….

I’ll sum up with this: camp was fantastic.  The Cuties arrived off the bus having loved the experience, chanting non-stop at meal times for their respective divisions, they tried all sorts of amazing new things {Big Cutie made it up on water skis!} and returned home filthy.  All signs of a successful experience in my book.

I quickly did laundry for four days straight, packed up The Happy Place, moved us all up North, visited friends, lived out of suitcases in a hotel, saw The Cute Grandparents, did last-minute errands and somehow managed to make it home on the 14-hour flight with both bronchitis and a double ear infection.  What am I ~ five?  Thank goodness for urgent care and prescription medications!

We hopped off the plane and made it to school orientations beginning the next morning.

And there you are!

This entry was posted in Ordinary Days I Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And Off They Went!

  1. Steph says:

    Oh, I envy you! We have another 15 days until we start in California! I need a vacation.

  2. Kay Brown says:

    So cute. I hope you are feeling better. I thought of you the day you flew back.

  3. Tokyo Jinja says:

    Nothing like swinging back into town just in time! It always works although I am sure they were exhausted this afternoon! Hugs to all!

  4. Christy says:

    It was nice to see your sister at the Bar Mitzvah! We missed you though : (

Leave a Reply

