Because Two Heads are Better Than One!

Remember last year when I mentioned how the husband and I had issues about dressing up for Halloween and wearing costumes, so figuring out what to wear that worked around all that could be a challenge?  And so we solved it with the High-Tech Couples costume, where I was an iPhone and he essentially got to wear khakis and a t-shirt?

Oh, my how things have changed in the Felt So Cute household.

With just the simple little question, “Hey honey – what about being Mr. & Mrs. Potato Head for Halloween this year?”

And he not only gave me a resounding yes, but then wanted to know if he could also have angry eyes” and could the parts be interchangeable.

I beg your pardon ~ interchangeable?

But then I realized with a little velcro, anything was possible!

I first decided that my Potato Head pieces needed to be three-dimensional because, well, they are in real life.  Which is probably a sign I’ve gone to the Halloween costume-making dark side when I start thinking about the realism of Potato Head pieces sculpted out of felt.

parts

Each piece was cut out of felt twice, hot-glued three quarters of the way around, stuffed with Polyfill and then glued the rest of the way closed.  You didn’t really think I was going to sew all those pieces and negate my Costume-Making Manifesto, now did you?

The biggest challenge was that I can only find felt in Tokyo that is a meter wide instead of the 72″ like it comes on the bolt in America.  I could also only find a measly seven meters of any color resembling a potato.  So I sewed three panels together to make two tubes and put ties at the tops {I wanted them adjustable so The Cuties can wear them for the Purim Carnival or for future Halloweens}.  I’d have done it differently in the States, and achieved more of a “potato-like” shape, but this was good enough.  Again, I should be concerned that I was questioning the reality of potato-like form….

parts2

The potato body had velcro where each feature went, and each piece has the opposite side velcro attached to the back.  Voila!  I have exchangeable pieces.

But how’s a madcap Potato Head couple on the go supposed to manage all their parts?

With a tushie pocket, but of course!
tushieflap

We were rather entertaining at the party, that people could reach into our pockets, pick new pieces, and change them, just like the real Mr. & Mrs. Potato Heads!

potatoes2

twotushies

We added store-bought bowler hats, big hoop earrings from Claire’s and white gloves from the Hyaku-yen shop and were set!

And because MY Mr. specifically requested Angry Eyes {probably our favorite line in “Toy Story!”}, I had to make them happen!

angryeyes

We were quite a sight walking in Roppongi last night trying to hail a taxi, and constantly being stopped by Japanese partiers wanting to take pictures with us.

But I really wish I had a picture of the taxi driver when he finally turned around and realized there were two people dressed as giant potatoes in the back of his car!

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Because Two Heads are Better Than One!

  1. Valerie says:

    Awesome! The costumes look great. I think the best part is you look comfortable.

  2. Tokyo Jinja says:

    I think you may have really outdone yourself on these! And they are so reusable that they will bring fun for years! Just wish I could have done a little face rearranging in person!

  3. Condoblues says:

    Angry Eyes is my favorite line too!

Leave a Reply

