Pantry Planning

It’s the time of year when we’ve finally settled into the groove of school, work, activities and daily life.

Which also means we’ve dropped our good habits and gotten a little sloppy in the Felt So Cute household.  Everything doesn’t go back in its proper place, shoes are left in the genkan by the dozen, and chips are left wide open in the pantry just waiting to attack me when I open the cabinet door.

This week I’ve received not one, but two holiday party invitations {YIKES!}, our school Winterfest is in a few weeks, and I just heard mention of class holiday parties, so that means there will be much baking in the near future.

Which brings us back to said pantry.

pantrybeforeWhile not complete Armageddon, way too many things were cohabitating with things they weren’t supposed to be and I had a suspicion we were up to four bags of dried mangoes because people kept writing it on the grocery list {and yes, the cracker bin has not been able to close for some time now}.

Like any good organizing project, I started by emptying the shelves, checking expiration dates {and tossing items well beyond questionable}, wiping down the shelves and grouping like items.  Remember, what are “like items” in our household aren’t necessarily the same in yours.  And that’s cool.  You just need to make your home work for you as best it can.

Because we are in a rental and most likely past the halfway point of our time in Japan, I decided to not purchase anything for this little project.  That meant no perfectly matching containers and no perfectly matching labels.

Rest assured, dear readers, I AM still breathing.

Once I made the call to just use found containers from around the house and whatever stickers I could scrounge up it was rather freeing to my Type-A little self.  {But don’t think I’ll be abandoning rainbow order and alphabetizing any time soon!}

And the after ~

pantryafter

The biggest part of this project was “containerizing” {we’re going to pretend that’s an actual word for the sake of this post, please} most of my baking supplies.  It’s much easier to stack things neatly, and more importantly, less likely to mix up cornstarch and powdered sugar in the heat of the moment or while being assisted by the short people in my house.

baking

I also got rid of the many half-torn boxes of teas that were always tumbling down on me and put them in air-tight containers {I have no idea why I happen to have so many of these on hand unused, by the way!}.  Please note my hoard of Starbucks Very Berry Hibiscus Refresher instant packets.  They did not sell these in Tokyo this Spring/Summer, so before I left Kiawah, I bought every single one they had for sale.  Since each packet makes two servings, Big Cutie and I have to make the joint decision that the day is “Refresher Worthy” {Quick: TV reference anyone? And NO, my 12 -year old daughter doesn’t know it!}

tea

So hopefully we’re good for awhile.

And I now am fully aware that we own three jars of capers.

capers

I can’t even begin to explain that one…

Linked to:

A Bowl Full of Lemons

This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pantry Planning

  1. Suzy says:

    Is it at all strange that I’m less surprised by three jars of capers than a single jar of Vegamite?

  2. Ashley says:

    Haha! I got the reference! Elaine and is he “sponge worthy”!! One of my fave Seinfeld episodes!
    Your pantry looks great. I notice you have some familiar Costco (Kirkland) items. Do you happen to have a Costco there, or do you have to get them from the USA?

  3. Kate says:

    As an Aussie, I’m thrilled that your husband likes Vegemite. How did he come to be introduced to it? Most foreigners seem to loathe Vegemite but it’s an Australian staple.

Leave a Reply

